More Ways to Connect
  LinkedIn Twitter YouTube Instagram

University of Cincinnati Academic Health Center
Publish Date: 11/21/12
Media Contact: AHC Public Relations, (513) 558-4553
PDF download
RSS feed
related news
share this
Kaplan Contest Winners Announced

Winners of the Annual Stanley M. Kaplan, MD, Medical Student Essay Contest were recently selected by Erik Nelson, MD, associate professor of psychiatry and behavioral neuroscience. The contest was established by Stanley Kaplan, MD, a member of the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Neuroscience faculty from 1954 until his death in 2011, to encourage improved writing and research skills among medical students.

The 2012 awards:

First Prize ($500):  "Vector-Mediated Gene Delivery to Model Striatal Interneuron Loss in Severe Tourette Syndrome” by Andrew Kobets of Yale University School of Medicine.

Second Prize ($250 each): "All you think about ….is being high – Phenomenology of Experiences Surrounding Heroin Detoxification” by Michelle T. Joy of Yale University and "Experiencing Global Mental Health:  Unique Models of Mental Health Care Encountered in Rural and Urban Peru” by Jordan Sloshower of Yale University School of Medicine.

All U.S. medical students are invited to submit an original written work to the 2013 contest. Entries may include topical essays, case reports, review articles or original research.  For more information, contact Mary Ann Schmidt at

 back to list | back to top