More Ways to Connect
  LinkedIn Twitter YouTube Instagram
Student Clinician Ceremony

Student Clinician Ceremony
Back Next
Publish Date: 07/03/13
Media Contact: Katy Cosse, 513-556-2635
PDF download
RSS feed
related news
share this
New Third-Year Students, Faculty Recognized at Clinician Ceremony

The Class of 2015 was formally welcomed into its third year at the Student Clinician Ceremony Friday, June 28, in Kresge Auditorium. 

Dean Thomas Boat, MD, provided introductory remarks, and Richard W. and Sue P. Vilter Chair in Internal Medicine Eric Warm, MD, gave the keynote address. To conclude the ceremony, the class recited its oath of professionalism led by Stephan Dixon.

The ceremony also included presentation of the gold apple awards to David Pettigrew, PhD, DJ Lowrie, PhD, and David Fischer, MD, and the silver apple awards to Lowrie, Pettigrew, Keith Stringer, MD, Laura Wexler, MD, Le Ann Coberly, MD and John Quinlan, MD. 

In accepting her award, Wexler emphasized that to win a teaching award is a treasured moment: "Students may not be aware of how much of a thrill it is to have one's teaching acknowledged, well, in fact for me it is one of the top two career experiences to win this sort of teaching award, the other thrill being taking care of patients."

According to Stringer, the "shortage of doctors in America is one of the many reasons why the department of pathology and laboratory Medicine is happy to be helping to train the next generation of physicians," adding that, "with so many in our group working in the area of teaching, I am delighted to be selected for this award." 

 back to list | back to top