More Ways to Connect
  LinkedIn Twitter YouTube Instagram
Patrick Solan, MD (center), was among five residents honored in connection with National Doctors' Day 2014. With him are Bradley Davis, MD (left), and John Deledda, MD.

Patrick Solan, MD (center), was among five residents honored in connection with National Doctors' Day 2014. With him are Bradley Davis, MD (left), and John Deledda, MD.
Back Next
Publish Date: 04/03/14
Media Contact: Katy Cosse, 513-556-2635
PDF download
RSS feed
related news
share this
GME Office Recognizes Residents for Doctors' Day

It looked like a routine meeting of the UC Stroke Team in the Stetson Building’s 2nd Floor library—until Lee Ann Liska walked in the door.

Liska, president and CEO of UC Health University of Cincinnati Medical Center, was there on a mission: to honor an outstanding senior resident leading up to the celebration of National Doctors’ Day March 30. Five residents at the College of Medicine were honored by the Office of Graduate Medical Education during the final two weeks of March with the 2014 Graduate Medical Trainee Award of Excellence.

Criteria for the award included professionalism, interpersonal skills, leadership, dedication to teaching and fostering innovation and quality improvement.

The 2014 Graduate Medical Trainee Awards of Excellence were awarded to five residents this year, representing the first time residents have had the same number of honorees as attending physicians.

Liska presented several of the awards personally and took particular delight in being able to surprise the recipient. That was the case Tuesday, March 25, at the UC Stroke Team meeting, where an unsuspecting Aaron Grossman, MD, PhD, sat at the conference table among his colleagues.

Liska expressed her appreciation for all faculty, fellows and residents and invited the physicians to a Doctors’ Day breakfast at which she would personally serve. Then, after listing the criteria for the award, she announced: "I’m very pleased to give the 2014 Doctors’ Day Graduate Medical Trainee Award of Excellence to Dr. Aaron Grossman.”

Grossman, a fellow in the endovascular surgery neuroradiology program and clinical instructor in the department of neurology and rehabilitation medicine, was called to the front of the room to receive his plaque and pose for photos.

"It’s just been an honor to be here, and this is such a wonderful family,” he said. "I’m just thrilled.”

Residents were nominated by their departments for their leadership, teamwork, research contributions, patient care and education of fellow residents and students.

This year’s resident awardees are: 

Sean Foster, MD: A fourth-year emergency medicine resident, Foster serves as a leader and educator within his program, mentoring junior residents and devoting weeks of elective time to teaching fourth-year medical students rotating in the emergency department.

At UC Cincinnati Medical Center, Foster serves as the Center for Emergency Care’s resident assistant medical director. There, nominators write that his "natural leadership, innate system-based collaboration, and consistent multi-disciplinary focus has impacted profoundly patient care, quality and process improvement.”

Anish Shah, MD: As a fourth-year urology resident, Shah has dedicated his time to strengthening graduate medical education. In addition to serving on the GMEC Committee, and the Resident Advisory Committee, Shah serves as the resident member of the Clinical Competency Committee in Urology.

He also works with residency program director and coordinator to revise rotation goals and objectives, adding milestones and observable practices for each residency rotation. Currently, he leads a team of residents in a quality improvement and patient safety project. Nominators praise his professional demeanor, focus on teamwork and leadership. Dr. Shah was highly instrumental in customizing clinical elements in the EPIC roll-out.

Patrick Solan, MD: As chief resident in the General Surgery Residency, Solan is a well-respected leader who, nominators wrote, "has come to define the characteristics that are required of such a prestigious award, including demonstration of excellence in patient care, leadership and mentorship to the medical students and other trainees.”

During the research portion of his residency, Solan was an integral member of the lab of Hector Wong, MD, at Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center. He was a finalist for the Shock Society New Investigator Award and the winner of the Ohio Chapter of American College of Surgeons Resident Research Competition.

Darlene Guse, MD: Guse,fourth-year resident in Integrated Plastic Surgery, was nominated for her natural leadership within the program, especially her work as a mentor and role model for junior residents and dedicated educator for rotating medical students.

Nominators wrote that Guse "exemplifies the concept of teamwork” and is "one of the most conscientious and reliable residents in our program.”  A former recipient of a sentinel event safety competition at the Mayo Clinic, she volunteers her time for Root Cause Analysis teams.

Aaron Grossman, MD, PhD: Though Grossman is notable for his impeccable academic credentials, members of the UC Vascular Neurology Fellowship recognized Grossman’s passion for teaching and gentle and patient bedside manner. 

"He truly shines is in his interactions with patients,” they wrote. "Every 1-2 months, we receive a notice of praise for Dr. Grossman from patients that have taken the time to write us letters to let us know how appreciative they are of his kind and competent care.”

In addition to the residents, five attending physicians were honored with Doctors’ Day Awards. They were: 

Diann Bridenbaugh, MD, Anesthesiology, Sustained Excellence Award.
Myron Gerson, MD, Cardiovascular Health and Disease, Exemplary Physician Award.
Charles Kuntz IV, MD, Neurosurgery, Clinical MVP Award.
Jonathan Moulton, MD, Radiology, Collaborator Award.
Madhuri Sopirala, MD, Infectious Disease, Impact Award.

 back to list | back to top