More Ways to Connect
  LinkedIn Twitter YouTube Instagram
2014 Gold Humanism Honor Society Inductees

2014 Gold Humanism Honor Society Inductees

Recipients of the 2014 Humanism & Excellence in Teaching Awards at the Gold Humanism Induction dinner, Thursday, May 1: Jordan Shapiro, MD, Mary Cairns, MD, Eleanor Glass, MD, and Pankti Shah, MD, (not pictured: Marie Audett, MD, and Michelle Bowman, MD)

Recipients of the 2014 Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Awards: Brittany Almaraz and Kenneth Davis, Jr., MD
Back Next
Publish Date: 05/08/14
Media Contact: Katy Cosse, 513-556-2635
PDF download
RSS feed
related news
share this
Gold Humanism Society Inducts Class of 2014

The College of Medicine’s Gold Humanism Honor Society Chapter, sponsored by the Arnold P. Gold Foundation, inducted the GHHS class of 2014 and presented several humanism awards to residents and faculty at its annual dinner Thursday, May 1.

Professor of Surgery Kenneth Davis, Jr., MD, gave the evening's keynote address. Davis received the 2014 Leonard Tow Faculty Award at the ceremony, which recognizes a College of Medicine faculty member who best demonstrates outstanding compassion in the delivery of care, as well as clinical excellence.

Fourth-year medical student Brittany Almaraz received the Leonard Tow student award this year. 

Almaraz was one of five students from the graduating class of 2014 who were inducted into the GHHS chapter during the ceremony. The other four were Kathy Sunnie Wang, Danisa Clarrett, P. Vairavan Manickam and Rebecca Yeager.

Also inducted this year were 12 students from the class of 2015: Leslie Applegate, Erin Capitena, Doug Cionni, Ellen Diego, Chris Doyle, Stephan Dixon, Konstantin Grigoryan, Kara Lewnard, Leigh Morrison, Thomas Park, Junzi Shi and Sally Woods.

All students were nominated by their peers and faculty as students who best exemplify integrity, compassion, altruism, respect, empathy and a dedication to service.

Finally, the society recognized six residents with the Arnold P. Gold Humanism in Teaching Awards this year. They are:
  • Marie Audett, MD, Surgery
  • Michelle Bowman, MD, Neurology
  • Mary Cairns, MD, Family Medicine/Psychiatry
  • Eleanor Glass, MD, Family Medicine
  • Jordan Shapiro, MD, Internal Medicine-Pediatrics
  • Pankti Shah, MD, Internal Medicine

 back to list | back to top