More Ways to Connect
  LinkedIn Twitter YouTube Instagram

University of Cincinnati Academic Health Center
Publish Date: 10/01/99
Media Contact: AHC Public Relations, (513) 558-4553
PDF download
RSS feed
related news
share this
Kaplan Essay Award Winner Selected

Cincinnati—University of Cincinnati (UC) College of Medicine announced the winner and runners-up of the eighth Dr. Stanley M. Kaplan Essay Contest. The winning essay was submitted by Kate D. Fitzgerald, a fourth-year medical student from Wayne State University School of Medicine.

Following her work with David R. Rosenberg, MD, from the Department of Psychiatry and the Department of Pediatrics at Wayne State, Ms. Fitzgerald submitted her essay entitled "Spectroscopic Imaging of Striatal Neurochemistry in Childhood Obsessive Compulsive Disorder." As winner of the contest, Fitzgerald receives a $500.00 prize. She plans on pursuing a career in psychiatry. The two runners-up, Jason Kornberg from New York University and James D. Tew, Jr. from the University of Pittsburg, each receive $250.00.

Stanley M. Kaplan, MD, professor emeritus of psychiatry at UC College of Medicine, established the contest to encourage writing and research skills in medical students. Many participants have heightened their interest in psychiatry as a result of their research efforts.

Approximately 30 to 40 essays from all over the country are received each year. The essays are judged on the basis of creativity, knowledge of psychiatry, style, and contribution to this medical specialty. A selection committee composed of Lesley Arnold, MD, associate professor of psychiatry, Paul E. Keck, MD, professor of psychiatry, Stephen M. Strakowski, MD, associate professor of psychiatry, and other faculty in specialty areas at the College of Medicine reviewed the entries.

 back to list | back to top