More Ways to Connect
  LinkedIn Twitter YouTube Instagram
James L. Winkle College of Pharmacy

James L. Winkle College of Pharmacy
Back Next
Publish Date: 09/28/16
Media Contact: Angela Koenig, 513-558-4625
PDF download
RSS feed
related news
share this
College of Pharmacy's 2016 Distinguished Alumni Named

The James L. Winkle College of Pharmacy announces its 2016 Distinguished Alumni Award recipients. 

The awardees, and the times of recognition, are as follows:

On Monday, October 3, Myrella Roy, PharmD (’80), will receive the Robert J. DeSalvo Award, an award that serves to recognize an alumnus of the Winkle College of Pharmacy who has contributed to the profession of pharmacy or the pharmaceutical sciences at the national or international level.

Roy has been executive director of the Canadian Society of Hospital Pharmacists since 2003 after previously serving as a clinical pharmacist, administrator, teacher and consultant. She was a leader at the Ottawa Hospital in Ontario, Canada, for 17 years, managing pharmacists and clinical pharmacy services, coordinating the hospital’s pharmacy residency program and maintaining a diverse active practice. She also held faculty positions at three universities in Canada and France. She was an invited speaker at more than 100 regional, provincial, national and international meetings. The recipient of various awards throughout her career, she earned her undergraduate degree in pharmacy from the University of Montreal and her doctor of pharmacy from UC.

Faculty meeting opportunities are from 9 to 10:30 a.m. or 1:30 to 2:30 p.m. Faculty may reserve a time by emailing  Bri Coggins. There is an open invitation to Roy’s presentation at 3:30 in the Medical Sciences Building’s Kresge Auditorium.

On Friday, October 21, Eric W. Mueller, PharmD (’99) will receive the Arthur C. Glasser Award, an  award that serves to recognize an alumnus of the College of Pharmacy who has contributed time and expertise to the college and its degree programs in pharmacy or pharmaceutical sciences to enhance student learning, training or research.

Mueller is the assistant director of pharmacy services at the University of Cincinnati Medical Center and has gained a reputation as an exemplary teacher of future pharmacists. His courses are among the most difficult in the Winkle College of Pharmacy, yet always among the most popular. In creating a vibrant, comfortable, hands-on learning environment, he has demonstrated a knack for breaking down the most complex clinical applications to a level of understanding that all students can handle. Mueller teaches with extraordinary expertise and humility, a rare combination that separates the good instructors from the truly remarkable. He has received many awards citing his outstanding work and service, including the university-wide President’s Award for Outstanding Adjunct Faculty.

Students, faculty and alumni are invited to attend a presentation by Mueller being held at 9 a.m., location to be determined. Faculty meeting opportunities are 10 a.m. to noon or 3 to 4:30 p.m. Faculty may reserve a time by contacting Bri Coggins.

On Friday, November 4, Major David R. Jarnot, PharmD (’06), will receive the GOLD (Graduate of the Last Decade) Award, which serves to recognize a graduate from the Winkle College of Pharmacy from the last ten years, who has made significant contributions to the college and/or the profession.

Jarnot has distinguished himself through his stellar service as a pharmacist in the U.S. Air Force (USAF). His leadership abilities and innate innovative spirit have helped standardize pharmacy practices throughout the USAF as well as elevate the role and impact of pharmacists. He is also leading research efforts to evaluate patient outcomes as a result of embedding pharmacists in USAF primary care clinics. Since becoming Pharmacy Flight Commander at Hill Air Force Base in Utah in 2012, Jarnot has been responsible for raising the number of yearly direct patient-to-pharmacist clinical interactions more than tenfold, with a guiding vision to drive pharmacy innovation to maximize patient safety for the benefit of USAF’s active duty, retirees and family members. He was named the Next Generation Military Pharmacist of the Year for 2015, the first Air Force recipient of the prestigious tri-service award.
Details of Major Jarnot’s visit will be announced at a later date.

 back to list | back to top