More Ways to Connect
  LinkedIn Twitter YouTube Instagram
Medical students inducted into the Gold Humanism Honor Society are shown outside of the UC College of Medicine.

Medical students inducted into the Gold Humanism Honor Society are shown outside of the UC College of Medicine.

Ndidi Unaka, MD, and Ellen Pittman are this year's Leonard Tow Humanism Award recipients.

From left to right are: Jeffrey Sussman, MD, Sarah Atkinson, MD, Joshua Kuethe, MD, Aruna Puthota, MD, and Richard Hoehn, MD.
Back Next
Publish Date: 05/03/18
Media Contact: Cedric Ricks, 513-558-4657
PDF download
RSS feed
related news
share this
Gold Humanism Society Inducts Class of 2019

The College of Medicine’s Gold Humanism Honor Society Chapter, sponsored by the Arnold P. Gold Foundation, inducted the GHHS class of 2019 and presented several humanism awards to residents and faculty at its annual dinner, Wednesday, May 2, in the CARE/Crawley Atrium.

Ndidi Unaka, MD, assistant professor in the UC Department of Pediatrics and associate program director for the pediatric residency training program at Cincinnati Children’s, was recognized as the Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Faculty honoree. Unaka will officially be presented the award, which recognizes a College of Medicine faculty member who best demonstrates outstanding compassion in the delivery of care, as well as clinical excellence, during Honors Day on May 19. 

Laura Malosh, PhD, assistant dean of student affairs, introduced Unaka during the ceremony.

Fourth-year medical student, Ellen Pittman, is the recipient of the Leonard Tow Student Award this year.  

Twenty-six students were inducted into GHHS: Erickson Andrews, Vasantham Annadurai, Calyn Crawford, Eric Harvey, Kathryn Hasselfeld, Javier Howard, Elizabeth Ireson, Grace Lambert, Sisi Lu, Aesha Maniar, Samantha Marek, Beatrice Nichols, Emily Olson, Maria Paskell, Heather Peterson, Claudia Ricotti, Andrea Rosado, Monica Saccucci, Salima Sewani, Raisa Tikhtman, Rachel Tonnis, Marcus Trybula, Toral Vaidya, Mahima Venkatesh, Elizabeth Wacker and Amber Young.

All students were nominated by their peers and faculty as students who best exemplify integrity, compassion, altruism, respect, empathy and a dedication to service. Their awards were presented by Malosh.

Finally, the society recognized five residents with the Arnold P. Gold Humanism Teaching Awards this year. Presented by Amy Bunger, PhD, assistant professor in the Division of Medical Education and assistant designated institutional officer, the awardees are:

  • Sarah Atkinson, MD, General Surgery
  • Richard Hoehn, MD, General Surgery
  • Joshua Kuethe, MD, General Surgery
  • Aruna Puthota, DO, Family Medicine/Psychiatry
  • Miguel Situ, MD, Neurology and Rehabilitation Medicine 

 back to list | back to top