More Ways to Connect
  LinkedIn Twitter YouTube Instagram

University of Cincinnati Academic Health Center
Publish Date: 07/29/98
Media Contact: AHC Public Relations, (513) 558-4553
PDF download
RSS feed
related news
share this
UC College of Pharmacy Dean Joins National Breast Cancer Research Panel

Cincinnati--Daniel Acosta, Jr., PhD, professor and dean of the University of Cincinnati (UC) College of Pharmacy, has accepted an invitation to serve as a member of the Integration Panel for the U.S. Army's Breast Cancer Research Program (BCRP).  He will serve a three-year term on the 24-member panel which includes scientists, consumer advocates, breast cancer survivors, and experts in basic, transitional, clinical, psychosocial, and public health issues.  The diverse panel has a mix of races, genders, backgrounds, geographic areas, and work environments.

In 1993, Congress appropriated $210 million to the Department of Defense in response to a highly visible coalition of citizen's groups seeking to increase breast cancer research efforts.  The Integration Panel is a vital component of the research program, acting in an advisory capacity to the BCRP, and deciding on the distribution of the research funds. The panel brings together experts from different disciplines who have extensive knowledge and/or experience in breast cancer-related issues.   Since traditional chemotherapy or radiation therapy treatments for breast cancer carry the risk of toxic side effects, Acosta’s experience in toxicology should prove valuable to the diverse panel.  The panel will act to provide funds for focused and coherent research, in an effort to eradicate breast cancer.

Acosta was named the dean of UC's College of Pharmacy in 1996, after holding many prestigious positions at the University of Texas at Austin.  He is a member of many organizations including the American Society for Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics, the Society for In Vitro Biology, and the American Heart Association-Basic Sciences Council.  In addition, Acosta has been elected president of the Society of Toxicology for the 2000-2001 term.

 back to list | back to top