More Ways to Connect
  LinkedIn Twitter YouTube Instagram
Mark Eckman, MD, Director of the Division of General Internal Medicine, presented a session at the 2017 UC Genernal Internla Medicine CME Conference.

Mark Eckman, MD, Director of the Division of General Internal Medicine, presented a session at the 2017 UC Genernal Internla Medicine CME Conference.

(From left to right front row) Houman Varghai, MD; Viga Stanek, MD; Katie Broderick, MD; Arshia Ali, MD; Bi Awosika, MD and second row left to right Ben Kinnear, MD; Matt Kelleher, MD; Lauren Ashbrook, MD; Courtney Ohrlinger, MD, and Mark Eckman, MD.
Back Next
Publish Date: 08/15/18
Media Contact: Cedric Ricks, 513-558-4657
PDF download
RSS feed
related news
share this
UC to Host Second General Internal Medicine Conference

The University of Cincinnati (UC) will host its second annual General Internal Medicine Conference Saturday, Sept. 8, 2018, at Manor House Banquet and Conference Center in Mason. The theme for this year’s conference is "Updates Every General Practitioner Needs to Know.”

The Division of General Internal Medicine in the UC College of Medicine is sponsoring the daylong conference which begins at 7:30 a.m. and continues until 3:30 p.m. UC designates this live activity for 6.0 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits. Successful completion of this CME activity, which includes participation in the evaluation component, enables the participant to earn up to 6.0 MOC points in the American Board of Internal Medicine (ABIM) Maintenance of Certification (MOC) program.

"Our conference will use evidence-based adult learning principles to engage learners and promote long-term knowledge retention,” explains Katie Broderick, MD, assistant professor in the Division of General Internal Medicine and event co-chair. "We hope to encourage fellows and residents at UC Health along with physicians and health professionals from across the Tristate to attend and interact with our faculty.”

"The conference will highlight topics such as heart failure, pulmonary hypertension, pneumonia, HIV, point of care ultrasonography, as well as how to be an effective teacher,” says Broderick. 

The conference is designed for physicians, nurse practitioners, physician assistants, pharmacists, health care providers and trainees in community and private practice settings interested in obtaining CME/MOC credit or specializing in internal medicine, hospital medicine and family medicine, says Bi Awosika, MD, assistant professor in the Division of General Internal Medicine, and event co-chair.

"This year’s conference promises to be innovative and a bit different from other educational conferences,” says Awosika. "We are using the most up-to-date educational techniques to design the format of the conference with an emphasis on short lecturers and small group case-based discussions.”

UC faculty speaking at the conference include: Renee Hebbler-Clark, MD; Eric Warm, MD; Maria Guido, PharmD, Keith Luckett, MD, and Gregory Egnaczyk, MD, from Christ Hospital along with Misoor Goueli, MD, from the Cincinnati Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) Medical Center.

"We had two sets of criteria for selecting topics for the conference,” says Mark Eckman, MD, Posey Professor of Clinical Medicine and Director of the Division of General Internal Medicine. "One focused on significant updates in clinical practice during the past year, while a second was based on a needs assessment which included a survey of primary care physicians and hospitalists. By bringing the latest innovations to practicing clinicians, we expect to advance the health of our patients throughout the Tristate.”  

Facilitators participating in the conference in addition to Eckman include: Gregory Rouan, MD; Bernie Lenchitz, MD; Elise Henning, MD; Viga Stanek, MD; Lauren Ashbrook, MD; Matthew Hardin, MD, Ashley Jenkins, MD; Nita Walker, MD; Danielle Clark, MD; Brian Herbst, MD; Houman Varghai, MD; Terri Brody, MD; Caitlin Richter, MD; Jinda Bowerman, nurse practitioner; Sharice Wood, MD; Maggie Duck, MD and Arshia Ali, MD.

Broderick, Awosika, Eckman, Bowerman, Chandra DuBose, Patricia Bell, Kim Benna, Bruce Gebhardt, MD, Jennifer Holzberger and Susan Tyler were part of the conference planning committee. Ben Kinnear, MD, and Matt Kelleher, MD, were educational consultants for the event.

The conference is open to all interested health professionals. The cost of registration is $50 for trainees, nurse practitioners and physician assistants and $100 for MD/DO attendees. Registration includes parking, CME/MOC accreditation, course materials, catered breakfast, coffee and lunch.

For more information, please contact Chandra DuBose at

 back to list | back to top