More Ways to Connect
  LinkedIn Twitter YouTube Instagram

University of Cincinnati Academic Health Center
Publish Date: 06/07/01
Media Contact: AHC Public Relations, (513) 558-4553
PDF download
RSS feed
related news
share this
Academic Health Students Name Gold and Silver Apple Recipients

Cincinnati--Keeping with the tradition of giving an apple to a favorite teacher, fourth-year medical students from University of Cincinnati (UC) College of Medicine presented the Golden Apple Award given for excellence in teaching at this year's Honors Day Program. The recipient of this year's Golden Apple given by the fourth-year medical students for clinical medicine was Clarence McLain, MD, professor emeritus of obstetrics and gynecology.

Established in 1968 by the Pi Kappa Epsilon Fraternity, the Golden Apple Award helps to foster better student faculty relations and symbolize the ongoing commitment of the College of Medicine and its faculty to excellence in education. Students select Golden Apple winners to honor professors who have had the most profound effect on their futures in medicine and in life. The fourth-year medical students also chose Jay Johannigman, MD, associate professor of trauma surgery, and Richard Stevenson, MD, associate clinical professor in pediatric surgery, to receive Silver Apple Awards for their teaching excellence in clinical medicine.

The second-year medical students chose Greg Balko, MD, professor, pathology and laboratory medicine, for the Golden Apple in basic sciences. Edmund Choi, PhD, associate professor of molecular genetics, and Paul Biddinger, MD, associate professor, pathology and laboratory medicine, were chosen for the Silver Apples in basic sciences.

The first-year medical students selected Bruce Giffin, PhD, field service assistant professor, cell biology, as the recipient of their Golden Apple Award. The first-year medical students also chose D. J. Lowrie, Jr., PhD, assistant professor, cell biology, and Chantal Prewitt, PhD, assistant professor, cell biology, as recipients of the Silver Apple Awards.

 back to list | back to top