More Ways to Connect
  LinkedIn Twitter YouTube Instagram

University of Cincinnati Academic Health Center
Publish Date: 05/22/02
Media Contact: AHC Public Relations, (513) 558-4553
PDF download
RSS feed
related news
share this
UC College of Medicine Announces 2002 Drake Award Winners

Cincinnati-- The University of Cincinnati College of Medicine has selected the winners of the 2002 Daniel Drake Awards, the highest honors bestowed by the college to honor distinguished living faculty or alumni who have made outstanding or unique contributions to medical education, scholarship or research. This year's winners are Jerry Lingrel, PhD, Clarence McLain, MD and John Tew, Jr., MD, all exceptional members of the UC faculty. The awards will be presented during the college's Honors Day Program at 7 p.m. on May 26 at Music Hall. The awards commemorate the founder of the College of Medicine, Daniel Drake.

"The College of Medicine is very proud of these three distinguished members of our faculty who have made extraordinarily important contributions to medical education and medical research," said John Hutton, MD, dean of the UC College of Medicine.

Dr. Lingrel is chair of the department of Molecular Genetics, Biochemistry and Microbiology. He received his bachelor's degree from Otterbein College and his PhD in biochemistry from The Ohio State University. He did postdoctoral work at the California Institute of Technology where he was a National Science Foundation Fellow. His research focused on hemoglobin synthesis and upon completion of his postdoctoral work he accepted an assistant professorship in the UC Department of Biological Chemistry.

His research on hemoglobin continued at UC and he identified and isolated the globin mRNA, which was the first one ever isolated from mammalian cells. In addition, Dr. Lingrel's studies involved gene regulation and developmental questions of the heart, kidney, T-cells and the erythropoietic system. He also pioneered a new dimension for the study of ion transport and spent a year sabbatical at the MRC Laboratory in Cambridge, England where he worked on early embryonic development.

Dr. Lingrel is most proud of competing effectively for a National Institutes of Health (NIH) Program of Excellence in Molecular Biology of the Heart and Lung grant. There were only three such grants awarded. He has published over 200 scientific papers and served on numerous study sections, including the NIH, National Science Foundation and American Cancer Society. He has received a number of awards, including the Sigma Xi Award for Outstanding Scientist, an elected member of the Fellows of the Graduate School, The George Rieveschl Award for Distinguished Scientific Research and the Distinguished Research Professor Award.

Dr. McLain has served as director of Medical Student Education in the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology since he joined the department as an assistant professor in 1967. For the past 35 years, he has created and remodeled the Medical Student Education Program. His commitment comes from his belief that medical education of the highest quality must be the first priority of faculty. Through personal example, Dr. McLain has been able to convey the art and science of medicine. He has recognized the importance of the doctor-patient relationship and has sought to teach medical students excellent communication skills. He emphasized the professional relationship is based on honesty, integrity, trust and being responsive to the needs of others.

In addition to his work in obstetrics and gynecology, he has been a leader on the various committees that design and implement the curriculum through all years of medical school. He introduced interactive group learning as a technique for instruction of students. Over the past 20 years, the medical students have voted to award him three Golden Apples (the highest teaching award that can be awarded by students) and six Silver Apples (also recognizing outstanding teaching).

Nationally, Dr. McLain received the Association of Professors of Gynecology and Obstetrics Award in recognition of outstanding contributions to medical education. He was named a UC Distinguished Teaching Professor in 1998 and in 1999 he was the recipient of the College of Medicine Alumni Lifetime Teaching Award. Clinically, he has served as chief of the Division of General Obstetrics and Gynecology.

A native of North Carolina, Dr. McLain received his medical degree from the University of North Carolina School of Medicine and his residency training at the Indiana University Medical Center. He was on active duty with the air force and served as a flight surgeon at the USAF Hospital Patrick Air Force Base in Florida. Patrick was the support base for Cape Canaveral and Dr. McLain was present for many countdowns for missile liftoffs, including Alan Shepherd's first ride on the Atlas Missile.

Even in retirement, Dr. McLain continues his work to improve medical education. Through his efforts, the third-year clerkship was increased from six to eight weeks and the interactive group learning format was instituted, placing the responsibility of learning on the students themselves.

Dr. Tew is an active neurosurgical clinician and scientist. He serves as the Mayfield professor and chair of the Department of Neurosurgery, a position he will hold until he steps down in July. He also serves as the medical director for The Neuroscience Institute.

Dr. Tew graduated from Campbell and Wake Forest Universities cum laude in 1957. He attended Bowman Gray School of Medicine at Wake Forest and then studied general surgery for two years at Cornell-New York Hospital and the Peter Bent Brigham Hospital. He was a fellow in neurophysiology at the National Institutes of Health and helped develop intracellular recordings in the human cerebral cortex and thalamus.

In 1965, Dr. Tew did a research fellowship and neurosurgical residency at the Massachusetts General Hospital. Working in collaboration with his colleagues, Dr. Tew brought the technique of stereotactic microelectrode recording to the operating room.

Dr. Tew was recruited to Cincinnati to join Dr. Frank Mayfield, who taught him humility, patience and a heightened sense of community service. Working with Dr. Mayfield and other associates, an outstanding community-based neurosurgical training program was established. With Dr. Tew's leadership, the Mayfield Clinic became the College of Medicine's nationally recognized Department of Neurosurgery. In 1992, he became the first Frank Mayfield Professor. The neurological services of the college were later integrated to form The Neuroscience Institute.

Dr. Tew is especially proud of the residents and fellows who have been educated in Cincinnati since 1969. More than 150, today they are teaching and practicing neurological surgery in the major clinics and schools of medicine throughout the United States and many other countries.

Dr. Tew has served as president of both the Congress of Neurological Surgeons (CNS) and the Academy of Neurological Surgeons. He was the CNS Honored Guest Lecturer in 1998 and has received recognition from Campbell University (honorary doctorate in human letters) and Wake Forest University (Distinguished Alumni Award). Dr. Tew received the Papal Pro Ecclesia Et Pontifica Medal from Pope John Paul II, delivered by Archbishop Daniel Pilarczyk in 1990 and the Distinguished Service Citation from the National Conference of Christians and Jews in 1995.

 back to list | back to top