More Ways to Connect
  LinkedIn Twitter YouTube Instagram

University of Cincinnati Academic Health Center
Publish Date: 02/13/03
Media Contact: AHC Public Relations, (513) 558-4553
PDF download
RSS feed
related news
share this
UC Stroke Researcher Receives Award from American Stroke Association

Joseph Broderick, MD, chair of the University of Cincinnati (UC) Department of Neurology, received the 2003 William M. Feinberg Award for Excellence in Clinical Stroke from the Stroke Council of the American Stroke Association, a division of the American Heart Association.  This prestigious award, which is supported by an educational grant from pharmaceutical firm Boehringer Ingelheim, recognizes the contributions of a council fellow to the investigation and management of stroke.Dr. Broderick is an internationally recognized expert on the epidemiology of stroke.  He is the director of the Greater Cincinnati/Northern Kentucky Stroke Team and of the Cerebrovascular Research Program at UC and is also the principal investigator for six ongoing, federally funded multi-center studies."Although I will be receiving the award, it really demonstrates the exceptional accomplishments of all our outstanding stroke team members." Dr. Broderick said.In 1987, Dr. Broderick and his colleagues established a population-based laboratory to study stroke throughout Greater Cincinnati and Northern Kentucky.  In this laboratory, Dr. Broderick and his colleagues played a major role in discovering and studying TPA, a clot-dissolving medication that is the first treatment for acute stroke.  UC stroke investigators have also examined the natural history and causes of intracerebral and subarachnoid hemorrhage, conducted the largest study of stroke incidence and mortality in the United States, and, most recently, investigated the genetics of stroke. With this award, the UC Medical Center will receive $10,000 to support future stroke research.  Dr. Broderick will present “Stroke Therapy in the Year 2025: Burden, Breakthroughs, and Barriers to Progress” at the 28th annual International Stroke Conference in Phoenix, Ariz. on Feb. 14.

 back to list | back to top