More Ways to Connect
  LinkedIn Twitter YouTube Instagram
Nelson Watts, MD, specializes in osteoporosis.

Nelson Watts, MD, specializes in osteoporosis.
Back Next
Publish Date: 05/19/08
Media Contact: Katie Pence, 513-558-4561
PDF download
RSS feed
related news
share this
UC Doctor Wins Prestigious Award for Work in Endocrinology

Nelson Watts, MD, was presented the Yank D. Coble Jr., MD, Distinguished Service Award on Saturday, May 17, by the American College of Endocrinology (ACE).


The Yank D.Coble Jr., MD, Distinguished Service Award is given by ACE, the educational and scientific arm of the American Association of Clinical Endocrinologists (AACE), which promotes the art and science of clinical endocrinology for the improvement of patient care and public health.

It is presented annually to a clinical endocrinologist who is recognized by his or her peers as having achieved distinction in the field of clinical endocrinology and has a record of devotion to teaching.


“It is truly a privilege to receive the highest honor awarded by my colleagues and the AACE,” says Watts, a professor of medicine at UC and director of the UC Bone and Osteoporosis Center. “I am deeply honored to join such a group of physicians who have given so much of themselves.”


Watts was presented the award at ACE’s 17th annual meeting and clinical congress in Orlando, Fla.


Yank Coble Jr., MD, the namesake of the award, is a former president of the World Medical Association and the American Medical Association as well as one of the founders of AACE and ACE. He is a distinguished professor and director of the Center for Global Health and Medical Diplomacy at the University of North Florida and clinical professor of medicine at the University of Florida who has made a great impact in the field of endocrinology.


Watts also serves as chair of the Food and Drug Administration’s (FDA) Advisory Committee for Endocrine and Metabolic Drugs and is on the American Board of Internal Medicine subspecialty board in endocrinology and metabolism.


He is a past president of ACE, served on the AACE Board of Directors from 1995 to 2003 and also served as associate editor of Endocrine Practice, the official ACE journal.

 back to list | back to top