Current Issue | Archives | Send Us Your News | Join Mailing List

Date: Monday, March 6, 2006

More Ways to Connect With Us

connect with us on Facebook  connect with us on Twitter  connect with us on YouTube  subscribe to our rss feed

Albert Sabin Stamp Celebration Wednesday

The UC Academic Health Center, Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center (CCHMC) and the U.S. Postal Service will celebrate the issuance of the new Albert Sabin, MD, postage stamp at 10:30 a.m. Wednesday, March 8, in Rieveschl Auditorium. Dr. Sabin is credited with developing the first oral live-virus polio vaccine while on the faculty at UC and on the staff of Cincinnati Children's Hospital Research Foundation. U.S. Postal Service officials will present enlarged images of the new 87-cent stamp to Dr. Sabin's widow, Heloisa Sabin, and to UC and CCHMC. UC's image of the stamp will be displayed beside the permanent Sabin exhibit in the Vontz Center atrium. The new stamp will go on sale at U.S. post offices that same day. For more information, call (513) 558-4553 or e-mail


LeMasters Receives Scientist Award

Grace LeMasters, PhD, professor of epidemiology and biostatistics in the environmental health department, has become the first female scientist ever to receive the Professional Accomplishment in Academia Scientists Award from the Cincinnati Engineers and Scientists Association. She was selected for her contributions to science as an independent researcher, industry adviser and mentor for environmental health students.


Mahoney Named 'Leading Woman'

Mary Mahoney, MD, associate professor of radiology, was named the leading woman of health care at the 12th annual Leading Women luncheon held March 2 at the Millennium Hotel. Dr. Mahoney, who recently was honored as a 2006 Business Courier Health Care Hero nominee, was among 20 Cincinnati women recognized by Leading Women of Cincinnati, a coalition of local women's groups.


Lockey Earns Government Appointment

James Lockey, MD, professor of occupational, environmental and pulmonary medicine in the environmental health department, was appointed to serve on the radiation and worker health advisory board of the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention through August 2009. In this role, Dr. Lockey will have direct input into the government's policies and procedures that ensure the safety and well-being of radiation workers throughout the United States.


Branson Honored at National Respiratory-Care Meeting

Richard Branson, associate professor of surgery in the division of trauma and critical care, was given two honors at the recently concluded American Association for Respiratory Care (AARC) International Respiratory Congress. Branson, a registered respiratory therapist, was named an AARC life member and received the Forrest M. Bird Lifetime Achievement Award from the American Respiratory Care Foundation. He was recognized for his career-long contributions to advancing the profession of respiratory care through scientific research.


Division Changes Name

The division of pulmonary and critical care has expanded its name to include "sleep medicine," as a way to better define its clinical direction. The division, now referred to as the division of pulmonary, critical care and sleep medicine, comprises 16 clinicians and basic scientists. It also includes the UC Comprehensive Sleep Medicine Center, which opened in November 2004.


New DDRDC Investigators

The Cincinnati Digestive Disease Research Development Center (DDRDC) welcomes three new associate members to its team of investigators. They include Charles Caldwell, PhD, department of surgery; Xinhua Lin, PhD, department of pediatrics and division of developmental biology; and Bryan Mackenzie, PhD, department of molecular and cellular physiology. The DDRDC, established in 2003 and supported by the National Institutes of Health, promotes digestive disease research that will lead to novel or improved therapies. For more information, visit

  < prev issue | back to top | next issue >