Current Issue | Archives | Send Us Your News | Join Mailing List

Date: Monday, November 14, 2005

More Ways to Connect With Us

connect with us on Facebook  connect with us on Twitter  connect with us on YouTube  subscribe to our rss feed

Robbins Wins Achievement Award for Heart Disease Research

Jeffrey Robbins, PhD, UC professor of pediatrics and director of the division of molecular cardiovascular biology at Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center, has won the 2005 Research Achievement Award from the American Heart Association (AHA). The award, presented annually since 1953, recognizes achievements in cardiovascular research. Dr. Robbins specializes in molecular cardiology, which focuses on understanding the cellular functions of the heart, including the identification of genes associated with heart disease. He received the award during the recently concluded AHA Scientific Sessions in Dallas.


Khan Appointed Associate Editor

Sohaib Khan, MD, of the department of cell biology, neurobiology and anatomy, has been named an associate editor for Cancer Research. Dr. Kahn, whose appointment runs through Dec. 31, 2006, will be responsible for the scientific review of submitted manuscripts and providing acceptance counsel to the senior editor and editor-in-chief.


Cancer Center Update

As the search committee led by Dan Gahl, administrator of UC Physicians and associate dean for practice management, actively recruits a new director of the UC Cancer Center, David Stern, MD, dean of the COM, has taken on the responsibility of interim director of the Cancer Center. Jack Gluckman, MD, who has played a leadership role with the center during the last few months, will continue to assist with the cancer initiative. Dr. Stern continues to work closely with the Health Alliance on the enhancement of the Cancer Center as well as quickly moving forward on the recruitment of a new chief of the hematology/oncology division. The Cancer Center effort is one of Dr. Stern's highest priorities and will include further development of infrastructure for clinical trials, tissue procurement, cores, graduate programs and a pilot grants program; strengthening and forging new links with the community; and working closely with Erik Knudsen, PhD, on the improvement of the center's clinical and research structure. Look for continuing updates on the Cancer Center in future issues of Dean's List.


Gift Funds Laboratory Investigations and Young Clinician-Researchers

The Neuroscience Institute at UC and University Hospital has received a $125,000 gift from the Davis Phinney Foundation for Parkinson's Disease Research and Wellness. The gift will fund laboratory research, clinical trials involving patients with Parkinson's disease and fellowship opportunities for young physicians training to become Parkinson's specialists. Earmarked for the COM's Davis Phinney-Donald Krumme Fund, the donation represents proceeds from the Sunflower Revolution II, a gala, educational symposium and bike ride held last August.


Top Doctors Named

Timothy Broderick, MD, department of surgery, Susan McElroy, MD, department of psychiatry, and Stephen Strakowski, MD, division of bipolar disorders research, were selected to be featured articles in Cincinnati Magazine's November 2005 "Top Doctors" edition. To obtain a copy of the magazine, which also includes a listing of "The Best Doctors in America," visit


Support the IvaDean Scholarship Fund

The 2nd Annual IvaDean Scholarship Benefit Concert will be held at 7 p.m. Friday, Dec. 2, in Kresge Auditorium. The event will feature an evening of musical performances by COM students and faculty to support the IvaDean Medical Student Scholarship Fund. Tickets are $5 for students and $25 for all others. Additional donations are appreciated and will directly support the IvaDean Scholarship Fund. To purchase tickets, send a check payable to the UC Foundation/IvaDean Scholarship Fund to the 2nd Annual IvaDean Scholarship Benefit Concert, Medical Sciences Building, PO Box 670552, Cincinnati, OH 45267, or via inter-department mail to mail location 0552. All tickets reserved through the mail will be available at a will-call desk in the Kresge Lobby on the day of the event. For more information e-mail

  < prev issue | back to top | next issue >