Current Issue | Archives | Send Us Your News | Join Mailing List

Date: Monday, August 22, 2005

More Ways to Connect With Us

connect with us on Facebook  connect with us on Twitter  connect with us on YouTube  subscribe to our rss feed

Business Courier Honors Faculty Members

Two COM faculty members have been selected from a pool of more than 220 nominations to be inducted into the Cincinnati Business Courier's 2005 Forty Under 40 class, which recognizes the "community's next generation of leaders and innovators." Brian Adams, MD, Department of Dermatology, and Arthur Ollendorff, MD, Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology, will be honored during a special dinner and awards celebration on Sept. 27 at the NKU/METS Center.


COM Hosts Midwest Emergency Care Conference

The departments of emergency medicine and surgery, in conjunction with University Hospital, are sponsoring the third annual Emergency Medicine Services (EMS) Midwest Conference on Aug. 31 and Sept. 1 at the NKU/METS Center. Experts will cover topics including obstetrical emergencies, pediatric toxicology, neurotrauma, stroke and altered mental status. EMS providers can earn 11 continuing credit hours. The $100 cost includes credits, snacks and beverages on both days and lunch on Sept. 1. For more information or to register, call 513-558-5786 or visit


Student Award-Winners Announced

Seven COM students recently received awards for academic excellence.


Jay Augsburger won the Robert Swain Memorial Award from the junior class for making medical school enjoyable for all during the first two years.


Michael Dentler and William Forton were presented with the McGraw Hill Publishing Award, which recognizes the top two students at the end of their first year.


Dentler also won the Howard Meineke Microscopic Award from the microscopic anatomy faculty for academic excellence and the Physiology Award for having the highest cumulative grade in the physiology course. He shares the honor with Jeffery Hill and Robin Petroze, both of whom ranked second and third, respectively.


Berkeley Limketkai won the H.B Weiss Award for demonstrating the best academic skills and abilities in evaluating a patient. 


Adam Metzler rounds out the honorees by garnering the Eugene B. Ferris Award, which recognizes a student whose scholastic performance and qualities of leadership during the first two years of medical school best exemplify the importance of excellence in the basic science disciplines. He also was presented with the American Society of Clinical Pathology Award for excelling in pathology.


Family Medicine Receives Residency Training Grant

The Department of Family Medicine has received a $77,000 grant from the U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration to develop a new curriculum for Underserved Track residents. The Underserved Track, directed by Joe Kiesler, MD, assistant professor of family medicine, allows residents to develop the skills needed to care for minorities and other underserved populations. The new curriculum, focusing on mental health, will instruct residents in public health policy and advocacy at the local, regional and national levels. In addition, the U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration awarded a $600,000 grant to the Department of Family Medicine and the Division of General Internal Medicine to establish a primary-care center of expertise that will instruct students and primary-care residents on how to treat underserved populations.


Procter & Gamble Scientific Leadership Dates Announced

The Department of Dermatology announces the schedule for the 2005-06 P&G Scientific Leadership series. All lectures will be from 10 to 11 a.m. in the Noah Worcester/Daniel F. Richfield conference room. The schedule is as follows:


Sept. 8, 2005

"Immunobiology of Langerhans Cells - From Real-Time Imaging to Pharmacological Manipulation"

Presented by Akira Takashima, MD, PhD, professor and vice chairman for research, Department of Dermatology, UT Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas


Oct. 27, 2005

"The Role of Cutaneous Vasculature in Inflammatory Skin Disease"

Presented by Robert Swerlick, MD, associate professor of dermatology, Emory University School of Medicine


Nov. 10, 2005

"Pemphigus Foliaceus and Bullous Impetigo Share a Common Pathophysiology"

Presented by John Stanley, MD, Milton Hartzell Professor and chairman of the Department of Dermatology, University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine


April 13, 2006

"Molecular Features of Melanoma Predisposition"

Presented by Sancy Leachman, MD, director of the Familial Melanoma Research Program, Huntsman Cancer Institute


May 11, 2006

"Photoaging/Aging: Mechanisms, Prevention and Therapy"

Presented by John Vorhees, MD, Duncan and Ella Poth Distinguished Professor and chairman of the Department of Dermatology, University of Michigan Medical School


June 8, 2006

"Molecular Mechanisms of Skin Aging and Photoaging"

Presented by Mina Yaar, MD, Boston University School of Medicine


July 13, 2006

"The Role of Ganglioside in Regulating Keratinocyte Function: In Vitro and Mouse Models"

Presented by Amy Paller, MD, Walter J. Hamlin Professor, chairperson of the Department of Dermatology and professor of pediatrics, Feinberg School of Medicine, Northwestern University

  < prev issue | back to top | next issue >