Current Issue | Archives | Send Us Your News | Join Mailing List

Date: Tuesday, July 5, 2005

More Ways to Connect With Us

connect with us on Facebook  connect with us on Twitter  connect with us on YouTube  subscribe to our rss feed

COM Remains Strong in NIH Funding

The COM once again performed well in the annual rankings posted by the National Institutes of Health (NIH). Out of 73 public medical schools, UC held on to its 19th position. UC jumped one place to the 42nd spot among all medical schools for NIH funding. Eight departments in the COM were ranked in the top 25 among their peers. Of those eight, four were listed in the top 15. Those were Emergency Medicine (13th), Environmental Health (5th), Molecular Genetics (7th) and Neurology (10th).


Seiden Honored by American Academy of Otolaryngology

Allen M. Seiden, MD, Department of Otolaryngology, will be presented with the American Academy of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery's Distinguished Service Award. This prestigious award is given to members in recognition of their volunteer contributions to the Academy and its foundation. The award will be given during the opening ceremony of the meeting on Sunday, Sept. 25, 2005, in Los Angeles.


COM Student Wins UC Teaching Award

COM student Bryan Mitton has won the UC Graduate Assistant Excellence in Teaching Award. Mitton, a student in the Physician Scientist Training Program, currently doing research for his dissertation in the Department of Molecular and Cellular Physiology, received the university-wide award at the UC Doctoral Hooding Ceremony on June 9. Doctoral students in the College of Medicine are not required to perform teaching duties, but Mitton, who articulates his passion and desire to become a truly excellent educator, has sought after and taken advantage of every opportunity afforded to him to teach and tutor.


Ryan Foundation Honors 5 from COM

Five COM graduate students were selected this year for Ryan Fellowships from the Albert J. Ryan Foundation. The 2005 recipients from UC are Christine Curran, environmental health; Elizabeth Duncan, neuroscience; Kevin Link, cell and molecular biology; Julie Poisson, molecular genetics, biochemistry and microbiology; and Dong Yan, molecular and developmental biology. Established in 1967 by Alice M. Ryan, in honor of her father Albert, the Ryan Foundation annually awards fellowships to students at three institutions (UC, Dartmouth and Harvard). Fellowship recipients are selected based on performance in formal courses, research talent, and accomplishments and participation in the scientific community. 


Pediatric Faculty Receive Research Awards

The Cincinnati Digestive Disease Research Development Center (DDRDC), part of the Children's Hospital Research Foundation, offered funding to support pilot and feasibility projects to conduct basic, translational or clinical outcomes research related to digestive disease. The following principal investigators from the Department of Pediatrics received awards: Lee Denson, MD, Simon Hogan, PhD, Mike Leonis, MD, PhD, Kris Steinbrecher, PhD, and Gregory Tiao, MD. More details can be found in the current edition of the Cincinnati DDRDC newsletter.


Queen City 101

In July, Greater Cincinnati has an average temperature of 75 degrees and sees four inches of rainfall.

  < prev issue | back to top | next issue >