Current Issue | Archives | Send Us Your News | Join Mailing List

Date: Tuesday, June 1, 2010

More Ways to Connect With Us

connect with us on Facebook  connect with us on Twitter  connect with us on YouTube  subscribe to our rss feed

Zuccarello Appointed Chair of Neurosurgery
Mario Zuccarello, MD, has been appointed chair of the neurosurgery department and Frank H. Mayfield Professor of Neurosurgery. Zuccarello’s appointment was approved May 25, 2010, by the UC Board of Trustees and takes effect June 1, 2010. He had been serving as interim chair of the department since July 1, 2009. Zuccarello joined the UC neurosurgery department in 1990 and the Mayfield Clinic in 1993. He serves as director of the neurovascular program for the UC Neuroscience Institute at University Hospital and as a member of the Greater Cincinnati/Northern Kentucky Stroke Team. He is a distinguished physician scientist who has published 163 articles in peer-reviewed journals and given 88 presentations at symposia across the globe.


Public Health Students Earn Top Awards
Students in the department of public health sciences received top honors in the poster and oral presentation sessions at the 2010 Ohio Public Health Combined Conference. The conference, "Energy, Environment and Public Health: Making the Connection," was hosted by the Ohio Public Health Association. PhD student Adam Knowlden received first place in the poster session, PhD student Ashlee Hoffman received second place in the poster session, PhD student Paul Branscum earned the second-place oral presenter award and MPH student Cinnamon Dixon received the third-place oral presenter award.


Makley and Campion Receive Research Awards
Surgical research residents Amy Makley, MD, and Eric Campion, MD, placed first and second, respectively, in the basic science category of the American College of Surgeons’ Ohio Chapter resident research competition. Makley received the award for her presentation on "Damage control resuscitation with a 1:1 ratio of plasma to packed red blood cells attenuates systemic inflammation following hemorrhage in mice”; Campion won for his talk on "Treatment with ethanol after traumatic brain injury decreases cerebral MIP1-alpha and serum neuron specific enolase in mice.”


Moulton is Physician of the Quarter
Jon Moulton, MD, professor of radiology, received the "Physician of the Quarter” award at UC Health University Hospital’s senior vice president awards ceremony, "Celebrating Health, Hope and Healing,” held May 11 in the hospital lobby. Moulton is the head of operations in the department of radiology and chief of the Body Imaging Section. In addition, Moulton serves on the hospital’s Medical Executive Committee and leads the credentialing process for faculty.

  New Dean's List Editor Announced
Katy Cosse, public information officer for the Academic Health Center, has been appointed the new editor of The Dean's List. She succeeds Jill Hafner, who edited and designed the publication for the last four years. In addition to Dean’s List, Cosse is responsible for publicizing many College of Medicine and UC Health University Hospital departments with a focus on transplant and trauma. Hafner will now focus on Web communications strategies for the Academic Health Center. She will continue to serve as the editor of Academic Health Center Findings and manage several other areas. For more information, contact Cosse at (513) 558-0207 or

Dean's Distinguished Cardiovascular Seminar Series June 7
The next Dean's Distinguished Cardiovascular Seminar Series will feature Douglas Losordo, MD, speaking on "Autologous CD34+Cell Therapy for Ischemic Tissue Repair" from noon to 1 p.m. Monday, June 7, in Medical Sciences Building Room 3351. Losordo is the Eileen M. Foell Professor of Heart Research at Northwestern University, program director in cardiovascular regenerative medicine and director of the Feinberg Cardiovascular Research Institute. Lunch will be provided. The event is sponsored by the Cardiovascular Center of Excellence. For more information, contact Donna Gering at or (513) 558-2307.

CCTST Grand Rounds June 11
The Center for Clinical and Translational Science and Training (CCTST) will hold its next quarterly Grand Rounds series from noon to 1 p.m. Friday, June 11, in Medical Sciences Building Room 2351. Janice Gabrilove, MD, will present, "Teamwork and Collaboration in Translational/Clinical Research.” Gabrilove, the James F. Holland professor of medicine and oncological sciences, is director of the MS and PhD program in clinical research and medical director of the Office of Clinical Trials, Tisch Cancer Institute, Mt. Sinai School of Medicine, New York. Her presentation will describe the concept of collaboration and define the key elements of a team and teamwork, while identifying the stages of a "community of practice.” Implementation strategies to promote collaboration and teamwork will also be discussed. CCTST Grand Rounds, made possible by an NIH Clinical & Translational Science Award (CTSA), are free of charge and open to the public. Past presentations and additional details are available at For more information, call (513) 803-1044 or e-mail

Hematology Oncology Grand Rounds June 11
Hammam Akbik, MD, assistant professor of anesthesiology and pain medicine, will be the featured presenter at the Friday, June 11, Hematology Oncology Grand Rounds. He will discuss, "Advanced Treatment for Cancer Pain” at 8 a.m. in Medical Sciences Building Room 2351. Akbik is the director of pain management service in UC’s department of anesthesiology. There will be no Grand Rounds June 4. For more information, e-mail or call (513) 558-0120.

Midwest Regional Brain Tumor Conference June 26
The 2010 Midwest Regional Brain Tumor Conference, a free educational event for patients, caregivers and family members, will be held from 8:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. Saturday, June 26, at the University of Cincinnati’s (UC) Tangeman University Center. The conference, titled "Hope, Innovation, Progress, Support,” is presented by the Brain Tumor Center at the UC Neuroscience Institute, in partnership with the National Brain Tumor Society. A team of UC faculty members will provide the latest information about tumor treatment, and 15-minute physician consults also will be available. Register in advance by calling (513) 569-5354, by sending an e-mail to or by registering online at
  < prev issue | back to top | next issue >