Current Issue | Archives | Send Us Your News | Join Mailing List

Date: Monday, January 3, 2011

More Ways to Connect With Us

connect with us on Facebook  connect with us on Twitter  connect with us on YouTube  subscribe to our rss feed
Health Care Heroes
2011 Health Care Heroes

Business Courier Names Health Care Heroes Finalists

The Business Courier has named 24 finalists for its 2011 Health Care Heroes awards, recognizing individuals and organizations making an impact on health care in Greater Cincinnati. The finalists and winners, as well as 2011 Lifetime Achievement winner Donald Hoffman of the Health Foundation of Greater Cincinnati, will be recognized at a ceremony March 14.

Finalists from the College of Medicine include:

  • Nelson Watts, MD, endocrinology, diabetes and metabolism, and Amit Bhattacharya, PhD, environmental health
  • E. Steve Woodle, MD, and Adele Rike Shields, PharmD, transplantation
  • Mark Goddard, MD, physical medicine and rehabilitation

The full list includes finalists from Allied Health Sciences and UC Health University Hospital.

College of Medicine
College of Medicine

Dean Position Description Posted

The committee responsible for nominating the university’s next dean of the College of Medicine and vice president for health affairs has prepared a comprehensive position description to aid in the search. The search committee is co-chaired by Provost Santa Ono and James Kingsbury, president and chief executive officer of UC Health.

Nominations can be made by writing J. Robert Scott Executive Search at Additional information on the search can be found on President Gregory H. Williams’ website.

Jerome Wiot, MD
Jerome Wiot, MD

Jerome Wiot, MD, Memorial Celebration

A celebration of the life of Jerome Wiot, MD, who passed away Dec. 21, 2010,  will be held at 11 a.m. Sunday, Jan. 9, in Kresge Auditorium. Attendees should park in the Eden Avenue Garage. The Wiot family will receive friends in the CARE/Crawley atrium during a brief reception following the ceremony.

Wiot, a UC College of Medicine alumnus, was professor emeritus of radiology and completed his internship and radiology residency in the 1950s at University Hospital (then Cincinnati General Hospital). He was named University Hospital’s director of radiology in 1968 and was named chairman of the College of Medicine’s radiology department in 1973. He held both positions until 1992. He was a long-serving member of the University Hospital board. Wiot participated in the training of more than 300 radiologists, many of whom practice in this region today. The Wiot Chair to support Radiology Resident Education was established and funded in 2005. He received many awards, including the 1992 Daniel Drake Medal, the College of Medicine’s highest honor.

In lieu of flowers, memorial contributions can be made to the University Hospital Foundation or selected organizations.

James Heubi, MD, (left) and Joel Tsevat, MD
Center for Clinical and Translational Science and Training

Next Round of CReFF Pilot Grant Program Announced

The Center for Clinical and Translational Science and Training (CCTST) is accepting applications from junior faculty for the next round of the Clinical Research Feasibility Fund (CReFF) pilot grant program. The CReFF provides one-year start-up funding of up to $20,000 for pilot studies, potentially renewable for one additional year. Applicants must already have an active CTRC-approved protocol or submit one for review with their proposal. Applications are due by noon Tuesday, March 1.

For full details, visit, call (513) 636-4273 or e-mail

Shuk-mei Ho, PhD
Shuk-mei Ho, PhD

"Epigenetics and Disease Outcome" Jan. 4

Shuk-mei Ho, PhD, Jacob G. Schmidlapp Chair of Environmental Health, will speak at the department of molecular genetics, biochemistry and microbiology seminar at noon Tuesday, Jan. 4, in Medical Sciences Building Room 4051. Her topic will be "Epigenetics and Disease Outcome.”

Ho is director of the Center for Environmental Genetics and co-leader of the Hormonal Malignancies Program in the Cincinnati Cancer Center.

Timothy Ley, MD
Timothy Ley, MD

Cincinnati Cancer Consortium Seminar Jan. 7

Timothy Ley, MD, professor of oncology at Washington University in St. Louis, will present "The AML Genome,” as part of the Cincinnati Cancer Consortium Distinguished Scientist Seminar Series. The talk will be from noon to 1 p.m. Friday, Jan. 7, in the Vontz Center’s Rieveschl Auditorium.

For more information, contact Sharon Young at (513) 558-7839.

Cincinnati Childrens Hospital Medical Center Building S  00145ARC
Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center Building S

Research Flow Cytometry Core Users Meeting Jan. 11

The next meeting of the Research Flow Cytometry Core at Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center will be held from noon to 1 p.m. Tuesday, Jan. 11, in S1.203 (rescheduled from Nov. 9).

Scott Tanner, PhD, CEO of DVS Sciences Inc., will present "Beyond 30 Parameters in Single Cells with Mass Cytometry.” He will discuss the cutting-edge technology of mass cytometry that is pushing the limits of multi-parameter flow cytometry with the ability to analyze over 30 parameters in a single cell without the need for compensation.

For more information, contact Monica DeLay at

UC Academic Health Center Public Relations and Communications Office University Hall, Suite 620 | PO Box 670550 | Cincinnati, OH 45267-0550 Phone: 513-558-4553
Fax: 513-558-2910 Web: | Email:
  < prev issue | back to top | next issue >