Current Issue | Archives | Send Us Your News | Join Mailing List

Date: Monday, April 17, 2006

More Ways to Connect With Us

connect with us on Facebook  connect with us on Twitter  connect with us on YouTube  subscribe to our rss feed

'State of the Center' Address Wednesday

Jane Henney, MD, senior vice president and provost for health affairs, will deliver the annual State of the Academic Health Center Address at noon Wednesday, April 19, in Kresge Auditorium. Dr. Henney's presentation, "Creating the Future," will provide an overview of the Academic Health Center's 2005 achievements and upcoming challenges and opportunities. Following the address, Dr. Henney will be open to questions. All faculty and staff are encouraged to attend. For more information, call (513) 558-4553 or e-mail


Physician Scientist Training Program Lecture

Diane Jorkasky, MD, vice president of development and director of worldwide clinical research operations at Pfizer, will discuss "How Drugs are Developed-A Pharmaceutical Company View" during the spring 2006 Physician Scientist Training Program Distinguished Lecture. The event will be held at 4 p.m. on Wednesday, April 19, in the Medical Sciences Building room E-351. Prior to her talk, Dr. Jorkasky will be available to meet with UC faculty and staff from 8 a.m. to noon and 1:30 to 3:30 p.m. To schedule a meeting appointment, contact Chris Brubaker at


Digestive Disease Funding Opportunity

The Digestive Disease Research Development Center is now accepting applications for pilot projects to conduct basic, translational, patient-based or outcomes research relating to pediatric digestive disease. All areas of digestive disease research (gastroenterology, hepatology and nutrition) will be considered, but particular emphasis will be placed on chronic liver disease, intestinal and liver failure, intestinal and liver transplantation, inflammatory and diarrheal diseases and obesity. All applications must be submitted by Monday, May 15, to Cynthia Wetzel, PhD, at For more information, including application guidelines, visit


Residents Honored for Teaching Excellence

Six UC residents have been voted by COM students to receive Gold Foundation Humanism and Excellence in Teaching Awards. Grady Alsabrook, MD, surgery; Brian Masterson, MD, psychiatry; Donna Mazloomdoost, MD, obstetrics and gynecology; Jon Pfeifer, MD, psychiatry; Jeff Strawn, MD, psychiatry; and Dave Sunnenberg, MD, pediatrics, will be presented with a certificate and cash award during the Student Clinician Ceremony on Friday, June 30, at Kingsgate Conference Center.


Charles Aring Memorial Lecture

Phillip Low, MD, professor of neurology at the Mayo Clinic, will present "Evaluation and Management of Autonomic Neuropathies" during the 20th annual Charles Aring Memorial Lecture. The talk will be held at 8 a.m. Wednesday, April 26, in Medical Sciences Building room 7051. The lecture is named after 1929 UC alumnus Charles Aring, MD, the first Albert Barnes Voorheis Professor of Neurology. For more information, call (513) 558-4050.


Betz Wins Medical Technologist Scholarship

Brenda Betz, a distance-learning student in the Clinical Laboratory Science Program, has won a $2,500 scholarship through the Emil Behring scholarship program, administered by Dade Behring, a clinical diagnostics company, and the American Society for Clinical Pathologists. The highly competitive scholarship, designed to address the shortage of medical technologists, is awarded annually to 34 students worldwide who are pursuing an advanced laboratory technology degree.


Neurology Docs Author New Book

Four neurology department faculty members have published a new handbook and PDA reference on evidence-based use of antiepileptic drugs. "Clinician's Guide to Antiepileptic Drugs" is the first antiepileptic drug book aimed at all the different specialties that use such medications for seizure control and non-seizure indications, says lead author Michael Privitera, MD. For each drug, the authors list FDA-approved indications and summarize the evidence for effectiveness and tolerability from clinical trials for epileptic, psychiatric, pain and headache treatment. Coauthors include Jennifer Cavitt, MD, David Ficker, MD, and Jerzy Szaflarski, MD, PhD.

  < prev issue | back to top | next issue >