Current Issue | Archives | Send Us Your News | Join Mailing List

Date: Monday, April 24, 2006

More Ways to Connect With Us

connect with us on Facebook  connect with us on Twitter  connect with us on YouTube  subscribe to our rss feed

Cohen Appointed to NIH Commission

Mitchell Cohen, MD, has been appointed to serve on the National Institutes of Health’s (NIH) National Commission on Digestive Diseases. Dr. Cohen is a professor of pediatrics and associate professor of internal medicine at UC and director of the division of gastroenterology, hepatology and nutrition at Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center. He will work with 16 other members in reviewing the current state of NIH digestive diseases research and developing a strategic plan for the next 10 years. For more information, visit


Dean’s Scholars in Clinical Research Announced

The Center for Clinical and Translational Science and Training has announced the recipients of the 2006-07 Dean’s Scholars in Clinical Research awards. They are Kristin Copeland, MD, pediatrics; Alberto Espay, MD, neurology; Maninder Kalra, MD, pediatrics; Dinesh Khanna, MD, internal medicine; Daniel Schauer, MD, internal medicine; and Steve Wilson, MD, internal medicine. The goal of the Dean’s Scholars program is to foster the career development of promising junior faculty in clinical research. All winners will receive up to $50,000 a year for up to three years to cover expenses for biostatistical support, informatics support, pilot projects, grants administration and tuition for courses offered in the master’s of science in clinical research program.


Concert in the Lobby Thursday

The next “Concert in the Lobby” performance will be held at noon Thursday, April 27, in the University Hospital (UH) main lobby. Ensemble Kamerad, established by UC College-Conservatory of Music (CCM) doctoral student Galit Gersenzon, will play music to commemorate composers who died during the Holocaust. All Academic Health Center students and employees are invited to attend. The Concert in the Lobby series was organized by David Stern, MD, College of Medicine dean, James Kingsbury, UH executive director, and Douglas Lowry, CCM dean, as a way to incorporate music into the health-care environment.


2006 Academic Health Center Report Available Online

Individuals who did not attend last week’s State of the Academic Health Center Address can access the 2006 Academic Health Center report by visiting The report, outlining the center’s achievements during 2005, is also available by contacting the public relations and communications office at (513) 558-4553 or


UC Cancer Center Distinguished Scientists Series

Stephen Baylin, MD, of Johns Hopkins University, will speak on “Epigenetic Gene Silencing in Cancer—Its Crucial Role and Origins in Tumor Initiation and Progression” on Friday, May 5. The talk, part of the UC Cancer Center Distinguished Scientists Seminar Series, begins at 11 a.m. in Rieveschl Auditorium. For more information, call (513) 558-1284 or visit


New Research Bronchoscopy Core

UC has opened its new Research Bronchoscopy Core, which provides airway cells, tissues or bronchoalveolar lavage fluids from normal volunteers and patients to UC investigators. It also includes access to a Luminex multiplex analyzer for performing a wide variety of bioassays. The new core, housed in the VA Medical Center’s (VAMC) General Clinical Research Center, is supported by the VAMC and the new Dean’s Discovery Fund. For more information, contact Dennis McGraw, MD, of the pulmonary, critical care and sleep medicine division, at (513) 558-4831 or

Swain Memorial Award Winner

Nanette Lacuesta-Kimmel is this year’s recipient of the $100 Swain Memorial Award, which recognizes a second-year medical student for treating people on equal terms, showing concern for fellow classmates and possessing the skill to transfer the drudgery of the first two years of medical school into an enjoyable experience for all.” The award, voted on by fellow classmates, is named after Robert Swain, a member of the class of 1982 whose life ended tragically the summer before his second year at UC. Students Hillary Dunlevy, Mai Vu and Kent Zettel also made the final ballot.

  < prev issue | back to top | next issue >