Current Issue | Archives | Send Us Your News | Join Mailing List

Date: Monday, December 30, 2013

More Ways to Connect With Us

connect with us on Facebook  connect with us on Twitter  connect with us on YouTube  subscribe to our rss feed
Joseph Broderick, MD
Joseph Broderick, MD

Broderick Named UCNI Director

Joseph Broderick, MD, Distinguished Research Professor of neurology and rehabilitation medicine, has been named director of the University of Cincinnati Neuroscience Institute (UCNI), effective Jan. 1, 2014. Broderick, who has served as UCNI research director, will assume the new position, as John Tew, MD, who has served as clinical director, steps into new roles at the College of Medicine and UC Health following 15 years of leadership.

Tew co-founded UCNI with Robert Lukin, MD, and Fred Samaha, MD, in 1998. 

Assisting Broderick in the leadership of UCNI will be Anya Sanchez, MD, who will continue as administrative director, a position she has held for the past four years. Mario Zuccarello, MD, Frank H. Mayfield Endowed Chair for Neurological Surgery and chair of the Department of Neurosurgery, will lead the stakeholder's advisory group for UCNI.

The administrative team will continue focusing on innovative patient-centered care of neurologic and psychiatric patients across UC Health, strengthening current centers and growing new centers and programs, and expanding the institute’s research and educational missions.

›› Read more about this announcement.

CARE/Crawley Building

Nominate a Faculty Member for Humanism Award

Nominations are now being accepted for the Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Award, presented by the Arnold P. Gold Foundation.

Each year, this award is bestowed upon a College of Medicine faculty member who best demonstrates the foundation’s ideals of outstanding compassion in the delivery of care, as well as clinical excellence.

To nominate a physician faculty member, complete the brief nomination form by Thursday, Feb. 6, 2014.

›› Read more about the award.

Elyse Lower, MD
Elyse Lower, MD

Robert Baughman
Robert Baughman, MD

Baughman, Lower Named Experts in Sarcoidosis

Professors of Medicine Robert Baughman, MD, and Elyse Lower, MD, have been named top experts in the field of sarcoidosis research and treatment by

The site uses an algorithm to rank results from the Pubmed database, assigning weight based on journal articles’ dates, types and the journals in which they appear.

Additionally, the site ranked UC as the top world institution for sarcoidosis research and treatment.

Hoxworth Blood Center

Smith & Lucille Gibson Endowed Lecture in Medical Ethics Jan. 9

The UC Department of Dermatology will host Clark Otley, MD, for the Smith & Lucille Gibson Endowed Lecture in Medical Ethics from 10 to 11 a.m. Thursday, Jan. 9, in the Hoxworth Building’s Heaton Conference Center (Room G344).

Otley is professor and chairman of the Department of Dermatology at the Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minn. He will discuss "Ethics in Cosmetic Surgery."

For more information, contact Bobbie Lambert at 513-558-0945 or

IvaDean Concert 2012

IvaDean Scholarship Concert Rescheduled for Jan. 10

The 10th annual IvaDean Medical Student Scholarship Concert will now be held at 7 p.m. Friday, Jan. 10, in Kresge Auditorium. The concert was rescheduled from its original December date due to inclement weather.

The night will include a silent auction starting at 5:30 p.m. to raise funds for scholarships.

Tickets are $5 for students/children under 12 and $15 for non-students, with the option to donate more. Call 513-558-5577 or see IvaDean Lair for more information.

University of Cincinnati

Nominations for Entrepreneurial Achievement Awards Due Jan. 10

UC’s Office of Entrepreneurial Affairs and Technology Commercialization is soliciting nominations for the 2013-14 Entrepreneurial Achievement Awards.

Two categories of awards will be given to faculty for exceptional accomplishment in promoting and maximizing the human benefits and commercial potential of university intellectual property and/or research: the Established Entrepreneur Award and the Emerging Entrepreneur Award.

Faculty members from all colleges are eligible to apply. Nominations are due Jan. 10, 2014. For more information, visit

Tracking your progress

Recreation Center Offers Membership Reimbursement Program

UC Campus Recreation and Human Resources have developed a pilot membership program in which benefits-eligible UC employees can qualify for the reimbursement of more than two-thirds the cost of the monthly membership fee when they become Campus Recreation members.

Beginning in February, recreation center members should check in and work out on at least eight different days during the month in order to receive a $26.66 reimbursement the following month.

The plan requires campus recreation membership and a free initial health assessment.

›› For more information

UC Academic Health Center Public Relations and Communications Office
University Hall, Suite 620 | PO Box 670550 | Cincinnati, OH 45267-0550 | Phone: 513-558-4553 | Fax: (513) 558-2910 | Web: | Email:
  < prev issue | back to top | next issue >