Current Issue | Archives | Send Us Your News | Join Mailing List

Date: Monday, June 21, 2004

More Ways to Connect With Us

connect with us on Facebook  connect with us on Twitter  connect with us on YouTube  subscribe to our rss feed

Render Receives Patient Safety Award

At the annual meeting of the Greater Cincinnati Health Council (GCHC), Marta Render, MD, Department of Internal Medicine, received the annual Richard Smith Leadership in Patient Safety Award for her contribution to improving patient safety in the Greater Cincinnati area.  Dr. Render leads the GCHC's Patient Safety Workshop, began UC's Patient Safety Research Group (a cross disciplinary group with interest in patient safety) and is director of the Getting at Patient Safety (GAPS) Center at Cincinnati Veterans Affairs Medical Center.


University Faculty Senate News

Laura Conforti, PhD, Department of Internal Medicine, has been elected to serve as one of two senators representing the College of Medicine in the University Faculty Senate (the other senator is Catharine "Sunny" Saelinger, PhD, Department of Molecular Genetics).  Dr. Conforti's term is two years.  John Cuppoletti, PhD, Department of Molecular and Cellular Physiology, is chair-elect of the Senate, and will assume the chairman position in the 2004-2005 academic year.  And Jorge Prada, MD, Department of Psychiatry, has been elected as an at-large senator after serving two terms representing the COM; he will remain chair of the human relations committee.  Other COM-related representatives to the University Faculty Senate are Angela Myatt from AIT&L (who serves as secretary) and Jane Thompson, a senator representing the Health Sciences Library.  Additional information about the University Faculty Senate is available by contacting Thyra Jackson at 556-0127 or via email at


Smith Honored with Chair

The UC Medical Center is honoring Robert Smith, MD, FAAFP, FRCGP, professor emeritus of family medicine, and his wife, Myfanwy, by establishing a chair in their names.  The Robert and Myfanwy Smith Chair recipient will focus on the human aspects of medical practice, the caring, personal and compassionate approach to care.  Dr. Smith's distinguished career as a leader and innovator in family medicine spanned the past four decades. He established the COM's Department of Family Medicine in 1975 after having established the Family Medicine Department at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, one of the first such departments in the U.S.

Keshavan, Arterburn Receive Rehn Award

Pavitra Keshavan, a graduate student in the pathobiology and molecular medicine program, and David Arterburn, MD, Division of General Internal Medicine, Department of Internal Medicine, are the recipients of the inaugural Rehn Family Research Award.  The purpose of the award is to support the development of research careers of trainees affiliated with the Department of Internal Medicine in the broad areas of hypertension and arteriosclerosis. 


Correction on Dean's Discovery Fund Recipient

Last week's TDL misidentified one of the recipients of the DDF.  The correct recipient is Dr. Keith Jones of the Department of Pharmacology & Cell Biophysics.  Please excuse our mistake.


Dahl Lands T-32 Grant

Stephanie Dahl, MD, a second year fellow in the Division of Reproductive Endocrinology and Infertility in the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology, was awarded one of two National Institutes of Health (NIH) T-32 training grants governed by the Society for Reproductive Endocrinology and Infertility, a competitive training grant limited to first- and second-year fellows around the country.  Dr. Dahl will be looking at the effects of opioids on GnRH receptor action in human brain tissue.  In a great example of interdepartmental research collaboration, Dr. Dahl will be working with Michael Lehman, PhD, in the Department of Cell Biology, Neurobiology, and Anatomy. 

La Barbera Appointed Scientific Director of ASRM

Andrew R. La Barbera, PhD, professor of obstetrics and gynecology and molecular and cellular physiology, has been appointed scientific director of the American Society for Reproductive Medicine (ASRM), the world's leading professional organization in the area of reproductive medicine, including infertility, contraception, sexual health, menopause and reproductive biology. Dr. La Barbera will oversee educational programs, publications and professional accreditation activities of ASRM and will serve as the scientific liaison to other professional organizations. He will remain on the faculty of the COM.


Mathieu Receives West Campus Appointment

Alix Mathieu, MD, Department of Anesthesia, was recently given a joint appointment in the Economics Center for Research and Education at the UC College of Business.  In his new affiliation, Dr. Mathieu will be involved (together with economists at the Center) in economic evaluation of drug utilization and new technologies. He will also be assessing the cost of safety and practice variations in anesthesia as well as in other specialties of medicine.


College of Medicine History

In 1883, the Cincinnati College of Medicine and Surgery established the first coeducational medical program for women.  However, because of Cincinnati's concern that women and men were being taught together, the program was discontinued.  The College eventually began a separate department for women, the Woman's Medical College of Cincinnati, which later merged with the University of Cincinnati College of Medicine; graduates of Women's Medical College are considered UC graduates.


Queen City 101

During World War II, the U.S. Playing Card company (headquartered in Cincinnati) secretly worked with the U.S. government in fabricating special decks to send as gifts for American prisoners of war in German camps. When these cards were moistened, they peeled apart to reveal sections of a map indicating precise escape routes.

  < prev issue | back to top | next issue >