Current Issue | Archives | Send Us Your News | Join Mailing List

Date: Monday, June 26, 2006

More Ways to Connect With Us

connect with us on Facebook  connect with us on Twitter  connect with us on YouTube  subscribe to our rss feed

LAMS Earns Preliminary Accreditation

UC's Laboratory Animal Medical Services (LAMS) has received an "outstanding" preliminary report from the Association for Assessment and Accreditation of Laboratory Animal Care (AAALAC)-International, which conducted a site visit June 14-16. Four inspectors visited every animal housing room on the Academic Health Center campus, the West Campus, Genome Research Institute and Raymond Walters College. They also reviewed countless protocols, amendments and policies and met with UC faculty, graduate students and staff. The inspectors will recommend that the AAALAC Council on Accreditation award continued full accreditation to UC. A final report is expected later in the year. For more information, contact Doug Stone at (513) 558-5171 or e-mail


Kadekaro Receives $25,000 Cancer Grant

Ana Luisa Kadekaro, PhD, of dermatology, was one of three researchers statewide to receive $25,000 in seed money from Ohio Cancer Research Associates. Twenty-six applications were received from various universities and hospitals in Ohio, including Case Western Reserve University, Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center, Ohio State University and the University of Toledo. According to the review board, Kadekaro's application received the highest score from each independent reviewer, representing five different academic institutions. She will use the award to investigate the link between genetic susceptibility to melanoma, ultraviolet radiation and cellular DNA repair capacity, with the goal of identifying better melanoma-prevention strategies.


Eliassen to Advance Bipolar Disorder Research

James Eliassen, PhD, of psychiatry, has received a two-year, $60,000 Young Investigator Award from NARSAD(National Alliance for Research on Schizophrenia and Depression): The Mental Health Research Association to further his bipolar disorder research. Eliassen was one of 206 young scientists selected to receive the award from a pool of 789 international researchers. He will work to identify metabolic changes in the brains of people with bipolar disorder using two imaging methods-functional magnetic resonance imaging (fMRI) and phosphorus magnetic resonance spectroscopy (MRSI). NARSAD is a donor-supported organization dedicated to funding research on psychiatric disorders. For more information, visit


Matthews Elected to Editorial Board

Jeffrey Matthews, MD, Christian R. Holmes Professor and chair of the surgery department, has been elected to a five-year term on the Annals of Surgery editorial board. He will be responsible for reviewing about two manuscripts a month.


Dean's Bridge Funding Recipients Named

Three researchers have been named first-round recipients of the Dean's Bridge Funding Awards. Zalfa Abdel-Malek, PhD, of dermatology, has received $60,000; Steven Kleene, PhD, cell and cancer biology, $45,270; and Grace LeMasters, PhD, environmental health, $60,000. Eight proposals were reviewed for this first round. The second-round applications are due Sept. 18. Faculty must be nominated by their department chair. The Bridge Funding program was set up to provide short-term support for established and productive College of Medicine researchers who have priority scores on pending grant applications that are close to being funded. For more information, call (513) 558-9815 or e-mail


ENT Instructors Advance to AAO-HNS Meeting

Two ENT clinical instructors have recently won awards in the Association for Research in Otolaryngology research competition, sponsored by the American Academy of Otolaryngology'Head and Neck Surgery (AAO-HNS). Fellow Scott Schraff, MD, won the resident-fellow basic science research award for his paper "Immunomodulatory Genes in CMV-Related Inner Ear Injury." Resident Melissa Statham, MD, placed third in clinical science for her paper "Intraoperative PTH: Effect of Sample Timing and Vitamin D."Schraff and Statham will both present their papers at the annual AAO-HNS meeting, to be held this fall in Toronto. Their faculty mentors were Dan Choo, MD, and Dave Steward, MD.


Golnik Recognized for Residency Education

Karl Golnik, MD, of ophthalmology, has won the 2006 Straatsma Award for Excellence in Resident Education from the American Academy of Ophthalmology (AAO) and the Association of University Professors of Ophthalmology (AUPO). The Straatsma Award is awarded annually to a residency program director dedicated to the principles and significance of residency education. Golnik will be recognized at the 2006 AAP annual meeting, Nov. 11-14 in Las Vegas, and the 2007 AUPO meeting, Feb. 1-3 in Indian Wells, Calif. For more information, visit

  < prev issue | back to top | next issue >