Current Issue | Archives | Send Us Your News | Join Mailing List

Date: Wednesday, July 5, 2006

More Ways to Connect With Us

connect with us on Facebook  connect with us on Twitter  connect with us on YouTube  subscribe to our rss feed

Nasrallah Named Editor-in-Chief

Henry Nasrallah, MD, professor of psychiatry, has been named editor-in-chief of the journal Current Psychiatry. He succeeds Randy Hillard, MD, professor of psychiatry and associate dean of the College of Medicine, who founded the journal in 2001 to meet the need for a practical review journal in the specialty. Current Psychiatry reaches nearly 40,000 mental health psychiatrists and nurses. It is a joint venture of the UC psychiatry department and Dowden Health Media, a health-care communications company for physicians and consumers.

Support Cancer Research at Tennis Open
All UC faculty, staff and students are invited to catch professional tennis in action and support cancer research when the WTA Tour makes a stop in Cincinnati July 15–23. A portion of the proceeds from the 2006 Western & Southern Financial Group Women’s Open will benefit the UC Cancer Center/Barrett Center. Four Top 25 tennis players, including seven-time grand slam champion Serena Williams, are expected to compete. To purchase tickets, visit or call (513) 651-0303.

Szaflarski Awarded NIH Grant
Jerzy Szaflarski, MD, PhD, assistant professor of neurology, has received a five-year, $850,000 grant from the National Institutes of Health to advance a novel technique, called EEG-fMRI, for imaging patients with juvenile myoclonic epilepsy. He is collaborating on the project with Scott Holland, PhD, professor of pediatrics, and Michael Privitera, MD, professor and vice chair of neurology.

Teaching Excellence Awards
The College of Medicine honored excellence in teaching with the presentation of the Gold and Silver Apple Awards and the Arnold P. Gold Foundation Humanism and Excellence in Teaching Awards during the June 30 Student Clinician's Dinner.

First-year medical students selected Bruce Giffin, PhD, for the Gold Apple, and Wan Lim, PhD, and D.J. Lowrie, PhD, for Silver Apples. Second-year students awarded Paul Biddinger, MD, the Gold Apple and Edmund Choi, PhD, and John Quinlan, MD, Silver Apples. The graduating class, which announced its winners May 28, selected Richard Stevenson, MD, for the Gold Apple and LeAnn Coberly, MD, and Rick Ricer, MD, for Silver Apples. Recipients of the Arnold P. Gold Foundation awards were residents Grady Alsabrook, MD, Brian Masterson, MD, Donna Mazloomdoost, MD, Jonathan Pfeifer, MD, Jeffrey Strawn, MD, and David Sunnenberg, MD.

Save the Date—Cardiovascular Update 2006
The fourth annual Cardiovascular Update will be held Oct. 6–7 at the Duke Energy Convention Center. Presented by the UC Heart and Vascular Center and the College of Medicine, the day-and-a-half program will provide the latest information on the treatment of cardiovascular diseases and risk reduction. For more information, call (513) 558-1810.

  < prev issue | back to top | next issue >