Current Issue | Archives | Send Us Your News | Join Mailing List

Date: Monday, October 16, 2006

More Ways to Connect With Us

connect with us on Facebook  connect with us on Twitter  connect with us on YouTube  subscribe to our rss feed
New Chair to Be Established in Psychiatry
UC has received a $2.5 million gift from the Dr. Stanley and Mickey Kaplan Foundation to support the department of psychiatry and establish the Dr. Stanley and Mickey Kaplan Endowed Chair in Psychiatry. The chair will be awarded to the chairman of the department. Stanley Kaplan, MD, is an alumnus of the College of Medicine and completed his residency training at UC. He is a former professor and interim chair of psychiatry and currently serves as an emeritus professor.

Luke to Give Presidential Address at ACCA
Robert Luke, MD, professor of medicine in the nephrology division, will deliver the presidential address at the 20th Annual Meeting of the American Clinical and Climatological Association (ACCA) to be held Friday, Oct. 20, in Charleston, S.C. Luke, who serves as ACCA president, will discuss “Salt: Too Much of a Good Thing?” The ACCA is the oldest elective society of internal medicine in the United States. For more information, visit

Thomas Appointed ASRM Committee Chair
Michael Thomas, MD, professor and division director of reproductive endocrinology and infertility in the obstetrics-gynecology department, was recently appointed chair of the Patient Education Committee of the American Society for Reproductive Medicine (ASRM). In this role, Thomas will supervise the writing of patient education material that is distributed worldwide via the ASRM Web site ( Thomas will also sit on the ASRM Practice Committee, which establishes practice guidelines for infertility practices.

Hoxworth Opens Donor Center in Mason
Hoxworth has opened a new donor center at 9554 South Mason-Montgomery Rd. in Mason, just north of Fields Ertel Road in the Governor’s Pointe Shopping Center. The center is expected to be one of the busiest Hoxworth donor centers, averaging over 400 blood donations a month. Currently, half of Hoxworth’s registered blood donors outside the I-275 loop reside in Mason and DeerfieldTownship. The Mason center’s operation hours are Monday, noon to 7:30 p.m.; Tuesday 10:30 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Thursday 8:30 a.m. to 4 p.m.; and the second and fourth Saturdays of each month from 8:30 a.m. to 4 p.m. For more information, call (513) 451-0910 or visit

Maternal-Fetal Research Topic of Hutton Lectureship
Larry Churchill, PhD, Ann Geddes Stahlman Chair of Medical Ethics at Vanderbilt University Medical Center, will discuss “Faith, Hope and Informed Consent: Ethical Challenges in Maternal-Fetal Research,” at the 2006 Hutton Lectureship in Ethics. He will speak from noon to 1 p.m. Thursday, Nov. 9, in Kresge Auditorium. The endowed lectureship is named in honor of John J. Hutton, MD, former dean of the College of Medicine. The lecture is free and open to the public. Register by Nov. 1 by visiting

Microbial Pathogenesis Conference
The microbiology department will host the 15th Annual Midwest Microbial Pathogenesis Conference Oct. 20–22. The three-day event features speakers representing 10 different universities and hospital systems. Conference activities on Friday (4 to 9 p.m.) will take place at Kingsgate Conference Center. Activities on Saturday (7 a.m. to 6 p.m.) and Sunday (7 to 10:45 a.m.) will be held in Tangemen University Center. Registration is $50 for students and postdoctoral fellows and $150 for faculty, principal investigators and participants working in private industry. The fee includes conference materials, breakfast, lunch, refreshment breaks and the opening reception. To register, visit


Shaw Earns NIH Grant
George Shaw, MD, PhD, assistant professor of biomedical engineering and emergency medicine, has received a five-year, $946,122 National Institutes of Health Independent Scientist Award (NIH K02) from the National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke. Shaw will use the grant to study a new combination of thrombolytic therapies using a novel in vitro microscopic imaging technique. His research team includes Christy Holland, PhD, of biomedical engineering, Dan Kanter, MD, of neurology, and Jason Meunier, PhD, and Christopher Lindsell, PhD, both of emergency medicine.


We hope you enjoyed reading the new online edition of Dean’s List, the result of feedback we received from our recent survey. With your suggestions in mind, we implemented the following changes:

  • New, fresh contemporary design
  • Specialized sections for easy reading
  • Color photos to help identify peers within the college
  • Less repetitive event information
  • More Web links for additional information
  • Enhanced online presence. In addition to its current location, Dean’s List can now be found at, which positions the publication within the HealthNews Web site, the primary source for Academic Health Center news and information.

The majority of respondents think Dean’s List is a valuable source of weekly communication within the College of Medicine. We hope to continue this tradition as we embark on this new phase. Let us know how we are doing by e-mailing us at

Dean’s List is a publication of the UC College of Medicine, published each Monday by the Academic Health Center Public Relations and Communications office. If you would like to submit news and information, please e-mail

  < prev issue | back to top | next issue >