Current Issue | Archives | Send Us Your News | Join Mailing List

Date: Monday, January 29, 2007

More Ways to Connect With Us

connect with us on Facebook  connect with us on Twitter  connect with us on YouTube  subscribe to our rss feed


Stern Recognized by U.S. Air Force
David Stern, MD, College of Medicine dean, has received a 2006 Human Effectiveness Directorate’s Annual Excellence Award from the U.S. Department of the Air Force. Stern was recognized for his work in supporting the biosciences and protection division of the Air Force Research Laboratory (AFRL) at Wright-Patterson Air Force Base in Dayton. For more information on the AFRL, visit

Boissy Named NVF President, Chair
Raymond Boissy, PhD, professor of dermatology, has been appointed president and chair of the National Vitiligo Foundation (NVF). The NVF is a 20-year-old nonprofit organization that focuses on fundraising for vitiligo research, education and patient support. Vitiligo is an acquired depigmentation disease that results in irregular white patches on the skin. For more information, visit

CTSA Grant Application Update Feb. 13
Academic Health Center leaders will present an update on UC’s application for a National Institutes of Health (NIH) Clinical and Translational Science Award at noon and 5 p.m. Tuesday, Feb. 13, in Kresge Auditorium. “What the NIH Roadmap and Clinical and Translational Science Award Mean to the Academic Health Center” will be led by Jane Henney, MD, senior vice president and provost for health affairs, David Stern, MD, College of Medicine dean, Thomas Boat, MD, pediatrics department chair and Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Research Foundation director, and James Heubi, MD, and Joel Tsevat, MD, Center for Clinical and Translational Science and Training codirectors. For reservations, call (513) 558-7540 or e-mail For more, visit

Students Elected to Alpha Omega Alpha

Seven fourth-year College of Medicine students have been inducted into the Alpha Omega Alpha National Honorary Medical Society. The students, Joseph Abdelmalek, Mary Carol Burkhardt, Kevin Clive, Chris Davis, Ari Levine, Zachary Pittsenbarger and Kasey Rohling, currently rank in the top 10 percent of their class. Alpha Omega Alpha’s goal is to recognize and perpetuate excellence in the medical profession. For more information, visit

Stephens Reelected NOCSAE Board President
Kenneth Stephens, MD, assistant medical director and coordinator of athletic medicine in University Health Services, has been reelected president of the board of directors of the National Operating Committee on Standards for Athletic Equipment (NOCSAE). The nonprofit NOCSAE sets professional, college and high school standards for athletic equipment such as helmets, faceguards, balls and soccer shin guards. For more information, visit

UC Kidney and Diabetes Experts Team Up Against Kidney Disease
Kotagal Kant, MD, and Janet Boyle, MD, both of the nephrology and hypertension division, are working with UC Diabetes Center specialists to reduce renal failure in diabetic patients. Diabetics are more prone to develop renal disease, but if the disease is caught early, kidney function can be prolonged. Kant and Boyle will see patients at the UC Diabetes Center on Wednesdays and Thursdays. The partnership will provide patients with comprehensive care in one location. For more information, call the UC Diabetes Center at (513) 475-8200. 


Reminder—State of Research at UC
Sandra Degen, PhD, vice president for research, will present the State of Research at UC at 2 p.m. Wednesday, Jan. 31, in the Richard E. Lindner Center, room 450. All university faculty, staff and students are encouraged to attend. For more information, visit


Shire Named Research Assistant Professor
Norah Shire, PhD, has been named research assistant professor in the digestive diseases division. Shire’s research specialty is the application of quantitative methods to address epidemiologic challenges in viral hepatitis and HIV co-infection. She completed her doctorate in quantitative epidemiology and biostatistics at UC and earned a master’s of public health from Johns Hopkins University.

Dean’s List is a publication of the UC College of Medicine, distributed each Monday by the Academic Health Center Public Relations and Communications office. If you would like to submit news and information, or if you have any comments about the publication, please e-mail

  < prev issue | back to top | next issue >