Current Issue | Archives | Send Us Your News | Join Mailing List

Date: Monday, March 5, 2007

More Ways to Connect With Us

connect with us on Facebook  connect with us on Twitter  connect with us on YouTube  subscribe to our rss feed


Highsmith Named Interim Chair of Pharmacology
Robert Highsmith, PhD, has been named interim chair of pharmacology and cell biophysics, effective March 11. Highsmith currently is professor and senior associate dean of research and graduate education in the College of Medicine. He will continue in these positions while taking on his new responsibilities in pharmacology. Highsmith replaces John Maggio, PhD, who has served as chair since 1997. Maggio will step down March 10 to focus on his research interests.]

Brown Named to National Committee

Katie Brown, PhD, research assistant professor of environmental health, has been appointed to a two-year term on the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency’s National Environmental Justice Advisory Council. Founded in 1993, the council brings together representatives from community, academic, industry, environmental, government and indigenous groups to address major environmental justice problems through new and revised environmental policies.

Watts Elected to ABIM Board
Nelson Watts, MD, professor of medicine, has been elected to a two-year term on the American Board of Internal Medicine’s (ABIM) subspecialty board on endocrinology. Watts, also director of the UC Bone Health and Osteoporosis Center, will provide counsel on the ABIM’s standards and certification process. He also will write exam questions for the ABIM’s certification exam for internists and medical specialists. For more information, visit

Numan Receives Howard Meineke Award
First-year medical student Suzanne Numan has won the Howard Meineke Award. Established by the cell biology, neurobiology and anatomy department, the award honors outstanding student achievements in medical microscopic anatomy that reflect the “profound intellectual curiosity and lively spirit” of Howard Meineke, PhD, professor emeritus at UC. During his 50-year career, Meineke challenged generations of medical students to think deeply about the relationship between tissue structure and function. Numan will be honored during a ceremony next year.

Limketkai to Present at ACP Meeting
Fourth-year student Berkeley Limketkai has been selected to give an oral presentation at the American College of Physicians’ Internal Medicine 2007 meeting, to be held April 19–21 in San Diego. Berkeley will present his abstract, “Severe Carnitine Deficiency Leading to Hyperammonemic Encephalopathy.” For more information, visit

Greater Cincinnati ‘Leading Women’ Named
Seven women from UC—four from the Academic Health Center—will be recognized as “Leading Women” in Greater Cincinnati at an annual luncheon to be held March 7 at the Duke Energy Center. The “Celebration of Women” luncheon honors the work of 21 Cincinnati women in fields ranging from health care and ministry to arts and entertainment. Those named Leading Women from the Academic Health Center include:
•  Dorothy Air, PhD, associate senior vice president for entrepreneurial affairs
•  Rita Alloway, PharmD, professor of internal medicine, division of nephrology and hypertension
•  Andrea Ice, outreach specialist, environmental health
•  Evangelia (Litsa) Kranias, PhD, professor of pharmacology and cell biophysics
For more information, visit

Dean’s Scholars Deadline Extended
The application deadline for the Dean’s Scholars in Clinical Research Program has been extended to Friday, April 6, at 5 p.m. Sponsored by the Center for Clinical and Translational Science and Training, the program works to foster the career development of promising junior faculty in clinical researchdefined as patient-oriented, translational, epidemiological, outcomes and health services research. Dean’s Scholars will receive as much as $50,000 a year for up to three years to cover expenses for biostatistical and informatics support, grants administration and tuition for courses offered in the master’s of science program in clinical research. Four winners will be announced May 1 and funding will start July 1. For more information, contact Joel Tsevat, MD, at (513) 558-7532 or James Heubi, MD, at (513) 636-8046, or visit

Exhibit Recognizes UC Surgeons
Trauma surgeons Kenneth Davis, MD, and Karyn Butler, MD, are among the 17 black academic surgeons and educators from across the United States showcased in a new National Library of Medicine exhibit. Titled “Opening Doors: Contemporary African-American Academic Surgeons,” the exhibit is on display through May 31at the National Library of Medicine and the Reginald F. Lewis Museum of Maryland African-American History and Culture. Davis is a professor of surgery and clinical anesthesia and vice chair of surgery. He also serves as assistant dean for diversity and cultural affairs for the College of Medicine. Butler is an associate professor of surgery. For more information, visit


CTSA Application Update
Academic Health Center leaders will present an update on UC’s application for a National Institutes of Health (NIH) Clinical and Translational Science Award at noon and 5 p.m. Tuesday, March 13, in Kresge Auditorium.What the NIH Roadmap and Clinical and Translational Science Award Mean to the Academic Health Center” will be led by Jane Henney, MD, senior vice president and provost for health affairs, David Stern, MD, College of Medicine dean, Thomas Boat, MD, chair of the pediatrics department and director of Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Research Foundation, and James Heubi, MD, and Joel Tsevat, MD, codirectors of the Center for Clinical and Translational Science and Training (CCTST). The presenters will provide an update on the progress of the grant working groups. For more information, call (513) 558-7540 or e-mail


Abruzzo Awarded $60,000 Research Grant
Todd Abruzzo, MD, assistant professor of neuroradiology, has been awarded a $60,000 Neuroradiology Education and Research Foundation grant for cerebrovascular disease research. Abruzzo will use the award to measure blood circulation characteristics, rates and patterns of aneurysm growth and coil compaction and the aneurysm’s physical characteristics in an effort to determine why certain patients have recurring intracranial aneurysms. 

Dean’s List is a publication of the UC College of Medicine, distributed each Monday by the Academic Health Center Public Relations and Communications office. If you would like to submit news and information, or if you have any comments about the publication, please e-mail
  < prev issue | back to top | next issue >