Current Issue | Archives | Send Us Your News | Join Mailing List

Date: Monday, May 14, 2007

More Ways to Connect With Us

connect with us on Facebook  connect with us on Twitter  connect with us on YouTube  subscribe to our rss feed


Faculty, Residents and Students Participate in Flying Pig Marathon

Orthopedic faculty members Steve Gammon, MD, Rich Owens, MD, Peter Stern, MD, and Keith Zurmehly and residents Jason Kinkartz, MD, Kevin Little, MD, Rob Raines, MD, and Michael Wind, MD, ran the May 6 Flying Pig Marathon in two four-person relay teams. Mike Greiwe, MD, (pictured) a third-year resident, finished second in the half marathon with a time of 1:10:36.


Twenty medical students were also among the record 18,192 people who participated in the Pig races. They ran in support of the IvaDean Medical Student Scholarship Fund. To date, they have raised nearly $3,500 and are still accepting donations. Those interested in donating can send checks to the UC Foundation, noting it is for the IvaDean Scholarship Fund–Flying Pig Marathon, to UC Academic Health Center, Office of Development, PO Box 670544, Cincinnati, OH 45267.


Psychiatry Resident Receives Research Award

Manpreet Singh, MD, a resident in the psychiatry department, will receive a $1,500 honorarium at the May 19–24 American Psychiatric Association annual meeting in San Diego. Singh is one of five psychiatry residents in the nation receiving this honor, the 2007 APA/Lilly Resident Research Award, for her original, unpublished scientific paper, “Psychopathology in Children of Bipolar Parents.” UC will also receive $1,000 as the site of the residency program where the work was completed. For more information, visit


Emergency Medicine Represented at National Meeting

Faculty, residents and research coordinators from the emergency medicine department will give  six oral presentations and enter nine posters at the annual meeting of the Society for Academic Emergency Medicine (SAEM), May 16–19 in Chicago. Presenters include Opeolu Adeoye, MD, Aaron Bernard, MD, Sean Collins, MD, Gregory Fermann, MD, Michael Lyons, MD, Jason McMullan, MD, Dana Raab, RN, Ali Raja, MD, Richard Ryan, MD, Brian Settler, MD, George Shaw, MD, and Mary (Kay) Vonderschmidt. For more information, visit


Medical Student Summer Research Program

Second-year medical students Andrew Lee and Christine Heubi recently traveled to the University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston for the 48th annual National Student Research Forum, sponsored by the American Medical Association Educational Foundation. They were selected to attend the forum because of their outstanding research projects completed during last year’s Medical Student Summer Research Program. At the forum Lee received the Sigma Xi Award for Overall Excellence in Research for his project titled “Analysis of the ability of the Rac-specific small-molecule inhibitor (NSC23766) to induce mobilization of human hematopoietic stem cells in a murine model.” His mentor was Jose Cancelas, MD, from the research division of Hoxworth Blood Center and the division of experimental hematology at Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center.  


Correction for May 7 Edition of Dean’s List

Jeff Strawn, MD, was incorrectly identified as a second-year psychiatry student. Strawn is a resident. He was selected as an American Psychiatric Institute for Research and Education (APIRE)/Janssen Resident Psychiatric Research Scholar.


Hoxworth Spring Blood Drive

Faculty, staff and students are invited to participate in Hoxworth’s all-campus blood drive from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. May 21–25 in Tangeman University Center. Drop-ins are welcome, but appointments are preferred. To schedule an appointment, visit  Hoxworth needs to collect blood from 350 volunteer donors and platelets from 40 volunteers each day to keep up with the demands of Tristate hospitals and their patients. The spring blood drive is sponsored by the Center for Community Engagement. Call Katie Glahn at (513) 558-1562 for more information.


Charles Aring Memorial Lecture

John Marler, MD, associate director for clinical trials at the National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke, will present “Clinical Research in Practice” during the 21st annual Charles Aring Memorial Lecture. The talk begins at 8 a.m. Wednesday, May 16, in Medical Sciences Building room 7051. The lecture is named after 1929 UC alumnus Charles Aring, MD, the first Albert Barnes Voorheis Professor of Neurology. For more information, call (513) 558-4050 or e-mail


Pain Management Workshop for Primary Care Providers

Hammam Akbik, MD, director of the pain management service in the department of anesthesiology, will chair a pain management symposium for primary care providers, including physicians, physician assistants and nurses, from 8 a.m. to 1:30 p.m. on Saturday, June 2, at the Cincinnati Marriott North in West Chester. The workshop will cover how providers should approach back pain, knowing when patients should be referred for headaches and the differences between myofascial pain and fibromyalgia. In addition, participants will learn important information about opiates and how to protect their practice. For more information or to register, contact Christine Veselsky at (513) 584-0909 or Registration deadline is Friday, May 25.


Systems Biology and Physiology Fest

Nationally recognized computational biology authority Lewis Chodosh, MD, PhD, from the Pennsylvania School of Medicine, will speak on Tuesday, May 22, at a retreat hosted by the molecular and cell physiology department’s systems biology and physiology program. The retreat, at the Genome Research Institute, 2180 E. Galbraith Rd., Reading, will demonstrate the fusion of concepts from many disciplines, including biology, computer science, applied mathematics, physics and engineering, that converge to form systems biology and physiology. For more details on the retreat, visit, e-mail or call (513) 558-2536.

Primary Care Providers Conference Focuses on Workplace Health

Primary care providers (PCPs), including physicians, nurses and physical therapists, are invited to a one-day conference Saturday, May 19, from 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. in the Kettering Laboratory Building (behind Health Professions Building/Wherry Hall) that will provide a basic understanding of a PCP’s role in promoting workplace health. The conference was developed by occupational health professionals and covers basic health and legal issues related to the workplace. Cost is $25. For more information or reservations, contact Marianne Kautz at (513) 558-1756 or


Genitourinary Malignancies Update

Leslie Oleksowicz, MD, division of hematology/oncology, will host a symposium on disease management for genitourinary malignancies on Saturday, July 21, at the Kingsgate Marriott Conference Hotel at the University of Cincinnati from 7:15 a.m. to 1 p.m. The event is intended for medical oncologists, radiation oncologists, urologists, surgeons, internists, pathologists, fellows, residents, students and oncology nurses. Program details and online registration are available at, or call Nancy Crossen at (513) 558-0120.

Dean’s List is a publication of the UC College of Medicine, distributed each Monday by the Academic Health Center Public Relations and Communications office.


If you would like to submit news and information, or if you have any comments about the publication, please e-mail

  < prev issue | back to top | next issue >