Current Issue | Archives | Send Us Your News | Join Mailing List

Date: Monday, June 18, 2007

More Ways to Connect With Us

connect with us on Facebook  connect with us on Twitter  connect with us on YouTube  subscribe to our rss feed


College of Medicine Alum Receives Honorary Degree

Gerald Buckberg, MD, class of í61, a world-recognized pioneer in the development of life-saving heart surgery techniques, received an honorary doctor of science degree at UCís commencement ceremony June 9.  Buckberg is a distinguished professor of surgery in the division of cardiothoracic surgery at the UCLA Medical Center. Read more here.


Trauma Surgeon Appointed Treasurer of Professional Society

Karyn Butler, MD, department of surgery, has been appointed to a three-year term as treasurer of the Society of Black Academic Surgeons (SBAS). Founded in 1989, the SBAS was created to mentor and inspire young surgeons and medical students to pursue academic careers. Each year the society partners with a leading department of surgery to hold a scientific meeting to share information about new scientific research and surgical advances. According the American Medical Association, only about 2 percent of U.S. physicians are black.


Deanís Scholars in Clinical Research Named

The Center for Clinical and Translational Science and Training (CCTST) has announced the 2007 Deanís Scholars in Clinical Research. They are Khalid Almoosa, MD, and Brent Kinder, MD, pulmonary, critical care and sleep medicine; Jason Blackard, PhD, digestive diseases; Marzieh Salehi, MD, endocrinology; and Laura Stadler, MD, infectious diseases, Cincinnati Childrenís.  Each will receive a one-year award (renewable for up to two additional years) for expenses such as biostatistical and informatics support, grants administration, and tuition for masterís level courses in clinical research. In addition to this yearís awardees, four current scholars have received renewed funding.


Dean David Stern, MD, and the CCTST established the Deanís Scholars program in 2006 to foster the career development of promising junior faculty in clinical research, which includes patient-oriented, translational, epidemiologic, outcomes and health services research. An explicit goal of the program is for awardees to obtain career development awards from national sources, ultimately leading to their becoming principal investigators on federal research project grants.


For more information on the Deanís Scholars program, visit the CCTST Web site at or contact CCTST program manager Susan Swearingen at 558-7540 or


Occupational Hygiene Students Recognized at National Conference

Five students in the environmental health departmentís division of environmental and occupational hygiene won awards and scholarships at the American Industrial Hygiene Conference and Expo, held June 2Ė7 in Philadelphia. Chunhui He was honored for the best student poster in occupational epidemiology for a study on the complex demands of shift work for nursing aides in nursing homes. Matt Hammer received the Tichauer Award for the best student poster in ergonomics for his study on bottle shell grip design and ergonomic stress on employees in the beverage delivery industry. Susan Kotowski received the Tichauer Award for the best student podium presentation in ergonomics for gender-specific cue effectiveness as a potential injury mediator during lifting of unknown weights. Yulia Iossifova received the H. Kenneth Dillon Memorial Award for the best biosafety and environmental microbiology student poster for her comparison of different assays for detecting-‚-D-glucan in purified glucan standards, pure fungal cultures and home dust samples. Each winning project was partially funded by the UC Education and Research Center pilot project program, sponsored by the National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health.


In addition, Robert Eninger received the John J. Bloomfield Award from the American Conference of Governmental Industrial Hygienists. This award is given to a young industrial hygienist who pursues the problem of occupational health hazards primarily by doing field work and who demonstrates significant contributions to the profession.


Memorial Service for Ward Bullock, MD

The department of internal medicine is honoring the roles and accomplishments of Ward Bullock, MD, July 11 from noon to 1 p.m. in Medical Sciences Building room 7051. In his 45-year career, Bullock worked in nearly every academic capacity, including serving on the faculties at UC and the universities of Rochester and Kentucky, and as dean of the University of Connecticut School of Medicine.

At UC, Bullock headed the infectious diseases division and was Arthur Russell Morgan Professor of Medicine (1980Ė94), associate chair for research (1988Ė89, 1993Ė94), senior associate dean of the College of Medicine (1989Ė91) and adjunct professor of molecular genetics, biochemistry and microbiology (1980Ė94).


Ahmad Named Codirector of UC Pancreatic Disease Center 

Syed Ahmad, MD, has been named codirector of the UC Pancreatic Disease Center, succeeding Andrew Lowy, MD. He is an assistant professor of surgery in the division of surgical oncology. Ahmad specializes in pancreatic and hepatobiliary surgery and does research in angiogenesis, the tumor microenvironment and anti-angiogenesis therapy. He is principal investigator on several clinical trials, including a national study of gastric cancer sponsored by the Southwest Oncology Group.


Deanís List is a publication of the UC College of Medicine, distributed each Monday by the Academic Health Center Public Relations and Communications office.


If you would like to submit news and information, or if you have any comments about the publication, please e-mail

  < prev issue | back to top | next issue >