Current Issue | Archives | Send Us Your News | Join Mailing List

Date: Monday, October 15, 2007

More Ways to Connect With Us

connect with us on Facebook  connect with us on Twitter  connect with us on YouTube  subscribe to our rss feed


Strauss, Jobe Inducted Into Institute of Medicine
Arnold Strauss, MD, and Alan Jobe, MD, PhD, both of the pediatrics department, have been inducted into the Institute of Medicine (IOM). Strauss is a professor and B.K. Rachford Memorial Chair in Pediatrics and serves as the medical director at Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center. Jobe is a professor of pediatrics and director of perinatal biology at Cincinnati Children's. Established by the National Academy of Sciences, the IOM is both an honorific membership and advisory organization that provides independent, scientifically informed analysis and recommendations on human health issues. Eight UC faculty members have been inducted into the IOM since its inception in 1970. In addition to Strauss and Jobe, UC members include Eula Bingham, PhD, environmental health, Thomas Boat, MD, pediatrics, Robert Graham, MD, family medicine, Jane Henney, MD, senior vice president and provost for health affairs, Jeff Whitsett, MD, pediatrics, and David Williams, MD, pediatrics. For more information, visit

Six to Be Inducted Into Alpha Omega Alpha
Six faculty members and residents have been selected for induction into the Cincinnati chapter of Alpha Omega Alpha (AOA). Diya Mutasim, MD, dermatology, and John Quinlan, MD, neurology, were named faculty inductees. Samir Belagaje, MD, neurology, Corrine Bria, MD, pediatrics, and Jared Hagaman, MD, internal medicine, were named resident inductees. Barbara Tobias, MD, family medicine, was named an alumni inductee. The new inductees will be recognized during the AOA banquet Friday, Nov.16, at the Phoenix restaurant.

Smulian Wins Mark Wolcott Award
George Smulian, MD, of infectious diseases, has won the 2007 Mark Wolcott Award for Clinical Excellence by the Veterans Health Administration (VHA). Smulian, who was nominated by his colleagues at the Cincinnati Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) Medical Center, is the first physician from Cincinnati to receive the award. Established in 1996, the Mark Wolcott award program recognizes outstanding VA health care practitioners for their contributions to enhance clinical care. It was named after Mark Wolcott, MD, former associate chief medical director for clinical affairs at the VHA, who dedicated over 40 years to serving and improving the quality of health care for VHA’s veteran population.


GI Cancer Symposium Nov. 3
UC’s 3rd annual GI Cancer Symposium, “Colorectal Cancer With Liver Metastases and Liver Tumors,” will be held from 8 a.m. to 12:45 p.m. Saturday, Nov. 3, at the Kingsgate Marriott Conference Hotel at the University of Cincinnati. Directed by Malek Safa, MD, of hematology-oncology, the free event is open to all health care professionals interested in the diagnosis and treatment of gastrointestinal cancer. For more information, call (513) 558-0120 or visit

CincinnatiEpilepsy CenterFundraiser Nov. 4
The Cincinnati Epilepsy Center will celebrate its 20th anniversary from 6 to 9:30 p.m. Sunday, Nov. 4, at Embers Restaurant in Montgomery. “Toasting 20 Years of Excellence in Epilepsy Research, Education and Care” will raise funds for epilepsy research at the Cincinnati Epilepsy Center, part of the Neuroscience Institute at University Hospital and UC. Hosted by Embers owner John Zipperstein, and Michael Privitera, MD, vice chair of neurology and director of the Cincinnati Epilepsy Center, the event will feature wine tasting, hors d’oeuvres, guest bartenders and a silent auction of fine wines and gifts. The recommended donation is $50 per person. For reservations and information, contact Kathy Nullmeier at (513) 558-6769 or

2007 Hutton Lectureship Nov. 13
A nationally recognized authority on medical humanities and ethics will deliver UC’s 2007 Hutton Lectureship in Ethics. Abraham Verghese, MD, will discuss “The Pen and the Stethoscope—How Literature Informs Medicine,” at noon Tuesday, Nov. 13, in Kresge Auditorium. Verghese is a Marvin Forland Distinguished Professor in Medical Ethics and Joaquin Cigarroa Jr., MD, Chair at the University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio. He also directs the Center for Medical Humanities and Ethics, which helps students to “reach their full potential as physicians through self-discovery.” UC’s Hutton Lectureship in Ethics is an annual, endowed lectureship named in honor of John Hutton, MD, former dean of the College of Medicine. The lecture is free and open to the public, but reservations are encouraged. For more information, call (513) 558-0905. Register online at

Save the Date—ENT Update Dec. 1
The 10th annual ENT Update 2007 will be held from 8 a.m. to noon Saturday, Dec. 1, at the Cincinnati Marriott North in West Chester. “Contemporary Concepts in Otolaryngology” will feature UC experts discussing a variety of topics ranging from hearing aids to sinus diseases and treatments. For more information, contact Barbara Huber at (513) 558-5391 or e-mail


Dean’s List is a publication of the UC College of Medicine, published each Monday by the Academic Health Center Public Relations and Communications Office. If you would like to submit news and information, please e-mail or fill out our online submission form by visiting

  < prev issue | back to top | next issue >