Current Issue | Archives | Send Us Your News | Join Mailing List

Date: Monday, November 26, 2007

More Ways to Connect With Us

connect with us on Facebook  connect with us on Twitter  connect with us on YouTube  subscribe to our rss feed


Faculty, Students Inducted Into Honor Society
Four faculty members and six medical students were inducted into the College of Medicine’s Gold Humanism Honor Society (GHHS) on Nov. 12. They include David Fischer, MD, of surgery, John Quinlan, MD, of neurology, Charles Schubert, MD, of pediatrics, Barbara Tobias, MD, of family medicine, and students Karen Ayre, Paul Bunch, Katherine Davidson, Martha Orabella, Conal Roche and Daniel Shrey. Former family medicine associate professor Bruce Gebhardt, MD, who moved to Erie, Pa., this fall, was also inducted. GHHS honors senior medical students, residents, physician teachers and other individuals who “demonstrate excellence in clinical care, leadership, compassion and dedication to service.” For more information, e-mail Denise Gibson, PhD, at, or Richard Stevenson, MD, at

Ingraham Named Clinical Scholar in Residence
Surgery resident Angie Ingraham, MD, has been named an American College of Surgeons (ACS) Clinical Scholar in Residence. Ingraham, who is pursuing a career in academic trauma surgery, will conduct clinical research in the ACS Division of Research and Optimal Patient Care in Chicago. She will also earn a master’s in clinical investigation during the two-year fellowship. The ACS Clinical Scholar in Residence program is highly competitive, offering only one position every two years. For more information, visit

Lewis Wins Teacher Development Award
Christopher Lewis, MD, volunteer professor of family medicine and UC alumnus, has received the 2007 Pfizer Teacher Development Award from the American Academy of Family Physicians Foundation. The award recognizes community-based physicians who teach family medicine on a part-time basis. Lewis, who works for Alliance Primary Care, was honored for his scholastic achievement, leadership and dedication to the field. For more information, visit

Martin Wins Young Investigator Award
Christina Martin, a third-year graduate student in the pathobiology and molecular medicine program, has won the 2008 Conference on Retroviruses and Opportunistic Infections (CROI) Young Investigator Award for her poster abstract “Identification of Hepatitis B Virus (HBV) Pre-Surface and Surface Mutations Among HIV Positive Individuals With Occult HBV Infection.” Martin collaborated on the project with Jason Blackard, PhD, Susan Rouster, Tarek Shata, MD, PhD, Kenneth Sherman, MD, PhD, and Norah Shire, PhD, all of the digestive diseases division. Martin will present the research at the 15th annual CROI to be held Feb. 3-6 in Boston.


EMINDERFinancial Policy Town Hall Meeting This Week
The administration and finance office will hold a series of town hall meetings to discuss the university’s financial policy changes. These policy changes include meal, travel and employee recruiting expenses; purchasing card violations; entertainment expenses; professional memberships, certifications, dues and subscription expenses; employee rewards, recognition and acknowledge expenses; and alcohol purchases. The one-hour meetings will be held at 9:30 a.m. and 1:30 p.m. Tuesday, Nov. 27, in the Vontz Center for Molecular Sciences’ Rieveschl Auditorium, and at 9:30 a.m. and 1:30 p.m. Wednesday, Nov. 28, in Tangeman University Center’s Great Hall.

IvaDean Concert Dec. 7
The fourth annual IvaDean Scholarship Benefit Concert will be held at 7 p.m. Friday, Dec. 7, in Kresge Auditorium. The event, which features musical performances by College of Medicine faculty, staff and students, aims to support the IvaDean Medical Student Scholarship Fund. Since 2004, the college has awarded $81,000 in scholarships to medical students in need of financial assistance. The concert is open to the public. Tickets are $5 for students and children, $20 for adults. To purchase tickets, call (513) 558-5577. Those unable to attend the concert, but wanting to support the fund, can send a check payable to the UC Foundation/IvaDean Scholarship Fund to the IvaDean Scholarship Benefit Concert, Medical Sciences Building, 231 Albert Sabin Way, Cincinnati, OH 45267-0552.

Dean’s List is a publication of the UC College of Medicine, published each Monday by the Academic Health Center Public Relations and Communications Office. If you would like to submit news and information, please e-mail or fill out our online submission form by visiting


  < prev issue | back to top | next issue >