Current Issue | Archives | Send Us Your News | Join Mailing List

Date: Monday, December 31, 2007

More Ways to Connect With Us

connect with us on Facebook  connect with us on Twitter  connect with us on YouTube  subscribe to our rss feed


Environment Health Chair Selected to Assist With Study
Shuk-mei Ho, PhD, professor and chair of environmental health, was one of 13 researchers selected nationally to help review key scientific literature exploring the relationship between environmental factors and female reproductive disorders. Ho will work with principal investigators Louis Guillette Jr., PhD, of the University of Florida, and Linda Giudice, MD, PhD, of the University of California, San Francisco. The 15-member study team will partner with the Collaborative on Health and the Environment, a non-profit research organization, to assess the research and develop a companion guide that will translate the science for lay audiences, including policymakers, women's reproductive health leaders and other key constituents.

Faculty Chosen for CSCR Membership
Seven internal medicine faculty members have been selected for membership into the Central Society for Clinical Research (CSCR). They are Mercedes Falciglia, MD, and Jenny Tong, MD, endocrinology and metabolism; Lisa Young, MD, pulmonary, critical care and sleep medicine; Michael Yi, MD, general internal medicine; Charuhas Thakar, MD, and Snezana Petrovic, MD, nephrology and hypertension; and Andres Gelrud, MD, digestive diseases. CSCR, one of the oldest and largest academic medical societies in the Midwest, works to foster medical science, clinical research and scientific investigation.

Pham Awarded Fellowship Scholarship
Anesthesiology fellow Phillip Pham, MD, has received a $60,000 fellowship scholarship from the American Society of Regional Anesthesia and Pain Medicine to fund his research project, “Simulation for Improving Teaching Skills in Regional Anesthesia and Pain Medicine.” Pham’s goal is to develop better resident teaching methods in epidural techniques. This, he hopes, will reduce the rates of unsuccessful epidural blocks and procedure complications. Pham was one of only two fellows nationally to receive the award.

Students Honored by Cincinnati Medical Association
Medical students Angela Donaldson, Andre Ivy and Taura Long each have received a $1,000 scholarship from the Cincinnati Medical Association (CMA) for academic and/or community service excellence. The CMA works to deliver quality medical care to underserved populations in Greater Cincinnati and provide professional support for minority physicians. UC faculty members belonging to the CMA include Orson Austin, MD, Charles Collins, MD, Jackie Collins, MD, Kenneth Davis, MD, Estrileta Dixon, MD, Chris Lewis, MD, Keith Melvin, MD, Chester Pryor, MD, Nita Walker, MD, Keith Wilson, MD, and Stephen Wilson, MD.


Pain Management Workshop Feb. 2
The anesthesiology department will host a pain management symposium from 8 a.m. to 1:30 p.m. on Saturday, Feb. 2, at the Embassy Suites hotel in Blue Ash. The workshop, open to all primary care providers, will focus on diagnosing and treating depression, insomnia and migraines. The $50 registration fee is due Friday, Jan. 25. For more information or to register, contact Christine Veselsky at (513) 584-0909 or, or visit


Dean’s List is a publication of the UC College of Medicine, published each Monday by the Academic Health Center Public Relations and Communications Office.

Send Us Your News
If you would like to submit news and information, please e-mail or fill out our online submission form by visiting

  < prev issue | back to top | next issue >