Current Issue | Archives | Send Us Your News | Join Mailing List

Date: Monday, April 14, 2008

More Ways to Connect With Us

connect with us on Facebook  connect with us on Twitter  connect with us on YouTube  subscribe to our rss feed


Immunology Division Chief Named
William Ridgway, MD, has been appointed chief of the immunology division pending approval by the UC Board of Trustees. Ridgway, who will join the internal medicine department in the fall, will serve as associate professor of medicine. Ridgway is currently an associate professor of medicine in the rheumatology and clinical immunology division at the University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine. From 1998–2003, he was chief of the rheumatology division at the Oakland Veterans Affairs Hospital in Pittsburgh. Ridgway received his medical degree from the University of Rochester and completed an internal medicine residency and rheumatology/ immunology fellowship at Stanford University Hospital. His research focuses on the genetics of autoimmunity and autoimmune phenotypes.

Meier Awarded Health Policy Scholarship
George Meier, MD, professor of surgery and chief of the vascular surgery division, was awarded the 2008 American College of Surgeons/Society for Vascular Surgery Health Policy Scholarship. The award will allow Meier to attend the “Leadership Program in Health Policy and Management” course at Brandeis University in June. In addition to this award, Meier was invited to present three topics at the Florida Vascular Society meeting to be held May 1–4. Meier, also director of vascular services at University Hospital, will discuss “Lower Extremity Intervention for Arterial Disease: Open or Endo?,” “Aortic Endograft Surveillance: Lessons Learned” and “The Future of Non-invasive Vascular Diagnosis.”

Dean’s Scholars in Clinical Research Named
The Center for Clinical & Translational Science and Training (CCTST) has announced the 2008 Dean’s Scholars in Clinical Research winners. They are Andra Blomkalns, MD, associate professor of emergency medicine, and Jaime Robertson, MD, assistant professor of medicine in the infectious diseases division. Both Blomkalns and Robertson will receive a one-year funding award to cover research expenses, such as biostatistical and informatics support, grants administration and tuition for courses in the master’s of science program in clinical research. The Dean’s Scholars program was established in 2006 as a way to foster the career development of promising junior faculty in clinical research, defined as patient-oriented, translational, epidemiological, outcomes and health services research. A major program goal is for awardees to obtain career development awards from national sources, ultimately helping them to become principal investigators on federal research project grants. For more information, visit or contact Susan Swearingen at (513) 803-1041.


Benefit Concert for Fine Arts Fund April 19
UC will host the Sound of Joy Chinese Folk Music Ensemble on Saturday, April 19, to benefit the 2008 Fine Arts Fund Campaign. UC Biomedical Engineering Professor Peixuan Guo, PhD, and College-Conservatory of Music (CCM) graduate student Aik Khai Pung will join internationally renowned musicians Zhengang Xie, Mei Hu and Ming Ke, and a group of performers, in an evening concert. Guo is an amateur Chinese flute player, while Pung is a prize-winning vocalist and soloist on the Chinese dulcimer and Er Hu, a bowed two-string instrument. The concert starts at 8 p.m. in CCM’s Corbett Auditorium. Admission is $10 (suggested donation) at the door. Students can attend for free. For more information on the concert or to donate to the fund, visit or e-mail

College of Medicine Casino Night April 26

The College of Medicine student chapter of the American Medical Association will host a casino night on Saturday, April 26, from 7 to midnight at the Kingsgate Marriott Conference Hotel at UC. All event proceeds will benefit the Endzone Club of Cincinnati, a local organization that works to improve the lives of Cincinnati’s underserved youth through after-school programs. Featured guest dealers include Ed Choi, PhD, Andrew Filak, MD, Bruce Giffin, MD, Wan Lim, PhD, and Rick Ricer, MD. Tickets can be purchased every day this week outside of Medical Sciences Building Room E-351 from noon to 1 p.m. The cost is $30 per ticket, $50 per couple. All are welcome to attend. For more information, contact Mallory McClester. For more information on the Endzone Club, visit


Pulmonary to Host Annual CME Event May 10
The division of pulmonary, critical care and sleep medicine will host the third annual “UC Pulmonary Medicine for Primary Care Practitioners” on Saturday, May 10, at the Great Wolf Lodge in Mason. The event runs from 7:30 a.m. to 2 p.m. Topics include updates on chronic obstructive pulmonary disease, asthma, interstitial lung disease, pulmonary hypertension, interventional procedures for lung cancer, sleep apnea and more. A maximum of five American Medical Association Physicians Recognition Award Category 1 credits are available. Registration is $50 for physicians, $25 for nurse practitioners and free for residents and fellows. For more information or to register, call Katy Roberto-Marston at (513) 558-1810 or visit

Dean’s List is a publication of the UC College of Medicine, published each Monday by the Academic Health Center Public Relations and Communications Office. If you would like to submit news and information, or if you have any comments about the publication, please e-mail The deadline for submission is the Thursday before the published date.

  < prev issue | back to top | next issue >