Current Issue | Archives | Send Us Your News | Join Mailing List

Date: Monday, May 19, 2008

More Ways to Connect With Us

connect with us on Facebook  connect with us on Twitter  connect with us on YouTube  subscribe to our rss feed


Lingrel Receives Excellence in Mentoring Award
Jerry Lingrel, PhD, chair of molecular genetics, biochemistry and microbiology, has been named the 2008 recipient of the UC Excellence in Doctoral Mentoring Award. Lingrel, a founding member of the developmental biology graduate program, was recognized for “outstanding and sustained guidance and support of students as they move through the process of becoming experts in their chosen fields.” Nominated by several students, Lingrell has been mentoring students at UC for the last 45 years. Ten of his former students hold professorships, eight are senior scientists in companies and others work as scientists in government agencies. Under his guidance, 28 students have received doctoral degrees. Lingrel will be formally honored during the doctoral hooding ceremony in June.

Apple and Gold Foundation Teaching Excellence Awards
Second-year medical students have selected three faculty members for the 2008 Gold and Silver Apple Awards, which recognize outstanding teaching and mentorship over the last year. Gregory Retzinger, MD, PhD, of pathology and laboratory medicine, has been awarded a gold apple, while Ed Choi, PhD, of molecular genetics, biochemistry and microbiology, and Bruce Giffin, PhD, of cancer and cell biology, were chosen to receive silver apples. The college also announced recipients of the Gold Foundation Humanism and Excellence in Teaching Awards, which are voted by all medical students. The winners are residents Ryan Buchholz, MD, medicine/pediatrics; Ian Foley, MD, obstetrics and gynecology; Shrawan Gaitonde, MD, surgery; Emily Moosbrugger, MD, dermatology; Brian Revis, MD, internal medicine; and Wolfgang Stehr, MD, surgery. All award winners will be honored at the Student Clinician's Dinner to be held at 6 p.m. Wednesday, July 2, at the Kingsgate Marriott Conference Hotel at UC.

Incoming CoM Student Wins UC’s Top Undergraduate Honor

Incoming College of Medicine student Monique Jindal has been awarded UC’s Presidential Leadership Medal of Excellence, considered the university’s most prestigious honor for undergraduate students. Jindal, who is in the dual admissions program, was honored for her “exemplary record in academics, leadership, character and service.” She was presented with a medal of honor by UC President Nancy Zimpher, PhD, during the UC Recognition Ceremony held last Sunday. Jindal is graduating with a bachelor’s degree in Spanish/pre-medicine. The UC honors student is founder and president of the UC student organization, “What’s in a Doctor’s Bag?” which works to ease children’s fears about visiting the doctor. She is actively involved in many local health initiatives and plans to volunteer at a medical clinic in Peru before attending medical school. Read more at

Dual Admission Students Win C-Ring
Two students in the dual admissions program have been named finalists of the C-Ring, one of the university’s oldest and most prestigious awards given to outstanding graduating senior women. Anar Patel and Wendy Goodwin were two of eight students named finalists. They were presented with the C-Ring by last year’s winner and current UC medical student Rachel Robitz during the annual awards dinner held last Saturday. Robitz was also a dual admissions program student. Patel is graduating with a degree in political science and Goodwin is graduating with degree in biomedical engineering. For more information, visit

Resident Wins Trainees Award to Pursue Hematology Research

Luckson Mathieu, MD, a second-year resident in internal medicine, has been named a 2008 recipient of the American Society of Hematology’s (ASH) Trainee Research Award. Mathieu will receive $4,000 to conduct research on blood and blood-related diseases, specifically sickle cell disease. Since 1995, the ASH awards program has supported nearly 600 trainees who are beginning their scientific careers. For more information, visit

Dunlevy Awarded Schmidlapp Scholarship
Hillary Dunlevy, a third-year medical student, has been awarded the $15,000 Charlotte R. Schmidlapp Scholarship Fund scholarship for the 2008-09 academic year. The scholarship is awarded on the basis of outstanding academic achievement, community involvement, leadership qualities and involvement in women’s health care issues. Dunlevy is actively involved in Student Physicians for Social Responsibility, taking part in community projects in Over-the-Rhine and in Mississippi during the aftermath of Hurricane Katrina. After her second year of medical school, Dunlevy completed a master’s degree in public health at Ohio State University. The Schmidlapp Fund was created in 1908 with a gift from Jacob Schmidlapp in memory of his daughter. The fund is administered by the Fifth Third Bank Foundation Office.


Cancer Center SeminarTomorrow
Anjana Rao, PhD, professor of pathology at the CBR Institute for Biomedical Research at Harvard Medical School, will present “Transcriptional Regulation of T Cell Differentiation” from 11 a.m. to noon Tuesday, May 20, in the Vontz Center for Molecular Sciences’ Rieveschl Auditorium. The event, part of the Barrett Cancer Center Distinguished Scientists Seminar Series, is free and open to all. For more information, contact Peggy Bareswilt at (513) 558-1284.

Systems Biology and Physiology Retreat Friday
The second annual retreat of the systems biology and physiology program (SBP) will be held on Friday, May 23, at Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center (Location S). The all-day retreat will showcase the research of students and faculty in the SBP program. It will begin at 8 a.m. with registration, poster setup and continental breakfast. At 9 a.m., Roger Brent, PhD, director of the Molecular Sciences Institute in Berkeley, Calif., will deliver a keynote address. All are welcome. For more information, contact Bette Young at (513) 558-2536.

Dean’s List is a publication of the UC College of Medicine, published each Monday by the Academic Health Center Public Relations and Communications Office 

Send Us Your News
If you would like to submit news and information, or if you have any comments about the publication, please e-mail The deadline for submission is the Thursday before the published date. 

  < prev issue | back to top | next issue >