Current Issue | Archives | Send Us Your News | Join Mailing List

Date: Monday, June 16, 2008

More Ways to Connect With Us

connect with us on Facebook  connect with us on Twitter  connect with us on YouTube  subscribe to our rss feed


Researchers Win Scientist Development Grants
Snežana Petrović, MD, PhD, of nephrology and hypertension, and Zhenyu Qin, MD, PhD, of cardiovascular diseases, have been awarded four-year, $308,000 Scientist Development Grants by the American Heart Association’s Research Committee. Petrović will use the grant to further study pH-sensitive receptors in the kidney. Qin will use the award to study the pathogenesis of atherosclerosis. The Scientist Development Grant, which funded 85 out of 435 scientists nationwide, supports highly promising beginning scientists whose research projects can bridge the gap between research training and readiness for competition as an independent investigator. For more information, visit

Losiniecki Wins Inaugural Dunsker Award
Andrew Losiniecki, MD, a third-year resident in the neurosurgery department, has won the inaugural Ellen and Stewart Dunsker, MD, Award for Clinical Research. Losiniecki, who has a special interest in neurotrauma and neurocritical care, was awarded the $2,000 annual prize with a paper titled, “Costs of the Non-Helmeted Motorcyclist: Neurological Injuries and Socioeconomic Losses.” The study was a retrospective chart review of 120 motorcycle-related admissions to University Hospital in 2004. The Dunsker Award is intended to spur clinical research among neurosurgical residents. Dunsker, professor emeritus of neurosurgery, and his wife underwrite the prize, which will be given each spring to a resident who has proposed and completed the most compelling clinical research project during the academic year. For more information, call (513) 558-3557.

Rosing Wins 2008 Geriatric Medicine Award
Medical student Joanna Rosing, MD, was one of seven recent Ohio medical college graduates presented with a 2008 Geriatric Medicine Award by the Ohio Department of Aging. The award honors outstanding graduates for their dedication and continued interest in geriatric medicine and research. Rosing will complete her residency training in anesthesiology at University Hospital. For more information on the awards, visit

Wojciechowski Notches Highest Score Nationally
Paul Wojciechowski, MD, a critical care fellow in anesthesiology, earned the highest score on the Society of Critical Care Medicine’s 2008 Multidisciplinary Critical Care Knowledge Assessment Program (MCCKAP). A total of 457 candidates completed the examination, administered throughout the United States and Canada. Only eight scored above 700 (the average is 500), and only one other candidate matched Wojciechowski’s score of 746. The MCCKAP is prepared by multidisciplinary critical care physicians who are experienced in examination preparation and analysis. The test helps program directors and fellows assess their level of critical care knowledge both as individuals and as a group of fellowship program participants. Many fellows also use the test as a preparation tool for the subspecialty board examinations in critical care. Wojciechowski completed his medical school training at UC in 2002 and his anesthesiology residency in 2007. He was chief resident from 2006–07. 


Center for Imaging Research Seminar Series
Richard Komoroski, PhD, will discuss “31P MRS of Phospholipids and Metabolites in Schizophrenia” from noon to 1 p.m. Thursday, June 19, in Medical Sciences Building Room 2351. The lecture is part of the Center for Imaging Research (CIR) seminar series. Komoroski is the associate director of the CIR. A light lunch will be served. For more information, e-mail or call 558-6225. 

MidwestRegional Brain Tumor Conference
The 2008 Midwest Regional Brain Tumor Conference will be held from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. Saturday, June 28, at the Sheraton Cincinnati North Hotel. The program is designed to educate and support patients, caregivers and family members. The free event is being co-sponsored by the University of Cincinnati Brain Tumor Center, National Brain Tumor Foundation and Brain Tumor Society. For more information, call (513) 569-5354 or e-mail

Dean’s List is a publication of the UC College of Medicine, published each Monday by the Academic Health Center Public Relations and Communications Office 

Send Us Your News
If you would like to submit news and information, or if you have any comments about the publication, please e-mail The deadline for submission is the Thursday before the published date.

  < prev issue | back to top | next issue >