Current Issue | Archives | Send Us Your News | Join Mailing List

Date: Monday, October 6, 2008

More Ways to Connect With Us

connect with us on Facebook  connect with us on Twitter  connect with us on YouTube  subscribe to our rss feed


TNI Changes Name to Reflect UC Ties
The Neuroscience Institute, a partnership of University Hospital and the College of Medicine, has changed its name to the UC Neuroscience Institute to better reflect its strong affiliation with the university and help strengthen national awareness and recognition of the program. Operations of the UC Neuroscience Institute will continue to be managed by a joint leadership team including physician representatives from nine academic departments, hospital management and College of Medicine leadership. Joseph Broderick, MD, chair of neurology, and John Tew, MD, professor of neurosurgery, will continue to serve as UC Neuroscience Institute co-medical directors. The UC Neuroscience Institute includes seven centers serving patients with neurological disorders and diseases: Brain Tumor Center, Epilepsy Center, Functional Neuroscience Center, Neurotrauma Center, Cerebrovascular Disease and Stroke Center, Waddell Center for Multiple Sclerosis and the James J. and Joan A. Gardner Family Center for Parkinson's Disease and Movement Disorders.

Filak Wins ACGME Award
Andrew Filak, MD, senior associate dean and professor of family medicine, was named a recipient of the Parker J. Palmer Courage to Lead Award by the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME). The annual award honors outstanding teachers and leaders in graduate medical education who strive to create an optimum learning environment for residents; encourage the ethical, professional and personal development of residents; and ensure safe and appropriate patient care. Filak will receive a plaque and a $1,000 check at a luncheon held during the ACGME’s annual educational conference, to be held March 5-8, 2009, in Dallas. He will also be invited to attend an educational retreat next May at the Fetzer Institute in Kalamazoo, Mich. The ACGME is a private, nonprofit organization that accredits approximately 8,400 residency programs in 126 specialties and subspecialties that educate 107,000 residents. For more information, visit

Lingrel Named Chair of Graduate School Fellows
Jerry Lingrel, PhD, professor of molecular genetics, biochemistry and microbiology, was elected to a two-year term as fellow chair of the UC graduate school, effective Sept. 1. Fellows of the graduate school are appointed for life by the UC Board of Trustees and are selected from among UC faculty members based on outstanding scholarship and/or artistic attainment. The fellows provide advice on a number of university issues and are responsible for selecting the Rieveschl Award for Distinguished Scientific Research and the Sigma Xi Award.

Simpson Named to National Board of Directors
Lisa Simpson, MD, professor of pediatrics and director of the Child Policy Research Center at Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center, was named to the AHIC Successor, Inc. Board of Directors. AHIC Successor, Inc., created under a grant from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services’ Office of the National Coordinator, is a public-private enterprise that supports the nation’s efforts in developing interoperable health information technology. The 15-member board will work to define the strategies by which the organization will fulfill its mission to develop a unified approach in creating an effective, interoperable nationwide health information system in the United States. For more information, visit

Scarpa Talk Available Online
Those who missed the Sept. 23 lecture by Antonio Scarpa, MD, PhD, can view a video of the presentation by visiting Scarpa, director of the Center for Scientific Review at the National Institutes of Health (NIH), discussed “Challenges and Opportunities Facing Peer-Review: A Vision Ensuring Its Strategic National Value.” His presentation included several important and drastic changes that will be implemented within the next nine months for the peer-review of NIH grants.


Mini Medical College Set to Begin Tuesday
College of Medicine professors will deliver a four-week public crash course on medicine and science during the eighth annual Mini Medical College, a health education series set to begin Tuesday, Oct. 7. Mini Medical College will provide students and lifelong learners of all ages with the latest trends in modern medicine and disease prevention and how they affect personal health. Classes will be held each Tuesday from 6:30 to 8:30 p.m. No medical or scientific background is needed to attend. The cost is $69 and includes eight lectures, parking, an information manual, a T-shirt and certificate of participation for those who attend all four evenings. All classes will be held Kresge Auditorium. For more information, including the 2008 schedule, call (513) 556-6932 or visit

Cancer and Cell Biology Seminar Thursday
Gregory Longmore, MD, faculty candidate andassociate professor of medicine and cell biology at Washington University School of Medicine, will discuss “Epithelial Morphogenesis and Cancer Metastasis" at noon Thursday, Oct. 9, in the Vontz Center for Molecular Studies' Rieveschl Auditorium. The talk is part of the Cancer and Cell Biology Seminar Series. All are welcome to attend. For more information, contact Peggy Bareswilt at (513) 558-1284.

Lurie Psychiatric Lecture Series Nov. 5
Helen Mayberg, MD,professor of psychiatry and neurology at Emory University School of Medicine, will discuss “Modulating Depression Circuits Using Deep Brain Stimulation” from 11:30 a.m. to 1 p.m. Wednesday, Nov. 5. The presentation, part of the LuriePsychiatricLecture Series, will be held at 260 Stetson St., Room 2108. For more information, call (513) 558-5326.


Dean’s List is a publication of the UC College of Medicine, published each Monday by the Academic Health Center Public Relations and Communications Office.

Send Us Your News
If you would like to submit news and information, or if you have any comments about the publication, please e-mail The deadline for submission is the Thursday before the published date.

  < prev issue | back to top | next issue >