Current Issue | Archives | Send Us Your News | Join Mailing List

Date: Monday, November 24, 2008

More Ways to Connect With Us

connect with us on Facebook  connect with us on Twitter  connect with us on YouTube  subscribe to our rss feed


Graduate Student Research Forum Results
Sixty students submitted abstracts for the College of Medicineís 29th annual Graduate Student Research Forum, held Nov. 13. First place was awarded to Olivia Schneider, of molecular genetics, biochemistry and microbiology. Second-place winners included Andrew Browne, Physician Scientist Training Program; Megan Thobe, cancer and cell biology; and Jennifer Cash, molecular genetics, biochemistry and microbiology. Honorable mention prizes were awarded to Monica Brooks, molecular genetics, biochemistry and microbiology; Wendy Szymczak, molecular genetics, biochemistry and microbiology; Robert Hufnagel, Physician Scientist Training Program; Timothy Mead, molecular and developmental biology; and Sumeda Nandadasa, molecular and developmental biology. Christy Holland, PhD, biomedical engineering, was awarded the Akeson Award for Excellence in Graduate Teaching. Thirty-seven faculty and postdocs judged the posters. 

Dean's Bridge Funding Recipients Named
Four faculty scientists have been named recipients of the Dean's Bridge Funding Awards. They are: Ian Cartwright, PhD, molecular genetics; Ranjan Deka, PhD, environmental health; Anil Menon, PhD, molecular genetics; and Ying Xia, PhD, environmental health. Awards ranged from $27,000 to $57,000. The Deanís Bridge Funding program was set up to provide short-term support for established and productive College of Medicine researchers who have priority scores on pending grant applications that are close to being funded. The application deadline for the next round will be announced in early January. For more information, call (513) 558-9815 or e-mail

Student Named to Board of Directors
Medical student Heather Kaiser was appointed to a two-year term on the American Medical Political Action Committee (AMPAC) Board of Directors. She will serve as the voice of all medical students on the board. AMPAC is the bipartisan political action committee of the American Medical Association. Its goal is to support and elect pro-medicine candidates on the federal level. For more information, visit


IvaDean Pre-Concert Reception
The fifth annual IvaDean Benefit Concert to raise funds for medical student scholarships will be held Friday, Dec. 5. Prior to the event, David Stern, MD, vice president for health affairs and dean of the College of Medicine, will hold a pre-concert reception in the CARE/Crawley Building atrium from 5:30 to 7 p.m. All are invited to attend. For more information, e-mail

Deanís List is a publication of the UC College of Medicine, published each Monday by the Academic Health Center Public Relations and Communications Office. You are receiving Deanís List because you are faculty, staff or a student at UCís College of Medicine. To unsubscribe to this mailing, please e-mail with the subject line: Unsubscribe Deanís List.

Send Us Your News
If you would like to submit news and information, or if you have any comments about the publication, please e-mail The deadline for submission is the Thursday before the published date.

  < prev issue | back to top | next issue >