Current Issue | Archives | Send Us Your News | Join Mailing List

Date: Monday, March 23, 2009

More Ways to Connect With Us

connect with us on Facebook  connect with us on Twitter  connect with us on YouTube  subscribe to our rss feed

Shaw Awarded NIH Grant

George Shaw, MD, assistant professor of emergency medicine, has been awarded a three-year, $500,000 grant from the National Institutes of Health’s National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke (NINDS), entitled TRUST, as a supplement to the SPOTRIAS (Specialized Program of Translational Research in Acute Stroke ) program project grant. Shaw will use the funding to continue studying the ability of combined tissue plasminogen activator (tPA) and ultrasound treatment to break up clots, and to quantify the acoustic field produced by ultrasound within the skull. SPORTRIAS is a national network of stroke centers that perform early phase clinical projects, share data, train new stroke fellows and promote new approaches to therapy for acute stroke. It is hoped that this work will lead to a better and safer therapy to treat acute ischemic stroke by breaking up clots faster and better than tPA alone.


Chair Receives Honorary Doctorate

Litsa Kranias, PhD, chair and professor of pharmacology and cell biophysics, was presented with an honorary doctorate degree from the University of Athens in Greece during a special ceremony held March 5. Kranias presented the highlights of her research during the event. She was formally recognized by the university president and dean of the Medical School at the Aula of the University of Athens. The ceremony was broadcasted on the Greek national news.


Honors Day Award Winners Announced
David Fischer, MD, chief of general surgery, has been selected once again to receive the Gold Apple teaching award during the College of Medicine’s Honors Day Program to be held Sunday, May 24. Eric Warm, MD, internal medicine, and Thomas deHoop, MD, obstetrics and gynecology, will be awarded Silver Apples. In addition, Leah Bauer will be presented with the 2009 alumni award. This year’s class speaker is David Feazell and the commencement representative is Eric Medlin. All winners were selected by the fourth-year class. Honors Day begins at 1 p.m. at the Aronoff Center for the Arts, downtown. For more information, contact IvaDean Lair at or (513) 558-5577.

History Library Renamed in Honor of Winkler

The UC Board of Trustees has approved the renaming of the Center for the History of the Health Professions. The new name—the Henry R. Winkler Center for the History of the Health Professions—honors the president emeritus of UC and former chair of the center’s advisory board. Winkler received his bachelor’s and master's degrees in history from UC and his doctorate from the University of Chicago. In 1977, Winkler returned to UC to serve as executive vice president and was named president by year’s end, serving until 1984. A well-respected historian of 20th-century Britain, Winkler served as chair of the history center’s advisory board from 1986-2006 and continues as vice chair today. For more information, visit


Simpson Appointed to Institute of Medicine Committee

Lisa Simpson, professor of pediatrics, has been appointed to a new Institute of Medicine committee to recommend national priorities for comparative effectiveness research (CER) conducted or supported with funds from the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act (ARRA) of 2009. The ARRA provides $1.1 billion in support of CER, which has been defined by some as the comparison of "the impacts of different options for caring for a medical condition for a defined set of patients.” Simpson is also the director of the Child Policy Research Center at Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center.


Cancer and Cell Biology Seminar Series

Susan Kasper, PhD, associate professor of environmental health, will discuss “The Androgen Receptor, Stem Cells and Prostate Tumorigenesis” at noon Thursday, March 26, in Rieveschl Auditorium. The talk is part of the Cancer and Cell Biology Seminar Series. For more information contact, Peggy Bareswilt at (513) 558-1284 or


2009 Peripheral Arterial Assessment Course

The UC Vascular Laboratory will present the 2009 Peripheral Arterial Assessment Course on Saturday, April 4, in Mont Reid Library Room 2455. This program will offer a focused learning experience for vascular technologists, physicians and fellows interested in establishing or expanding peripheral arterial assessment skills. Both didactic material and a hands-on laboratory experience will be included. A total of 5.75 SVU-Continuing Medical Education (SVU-CME) credit hours are available on an hour-for-hour basis from SVU and may be used to fulfill the continuing education requirements necessary to retain RVT credentials with the American Registry of Diagnostic Medical Sonography, RVS credentials with the Cardiovascular Credentialing Institute lab’s accreditation with the Intersocietal Commission for the Accreditation of Vascular Laboratories, or the American Institute of Ultrasound in Medicine. Registration is $50 and payable in advance or at the door. Space is limited to 24 participants. To register, call Julie Gulley at (513) 558-5367.


Dean’s List is a publication of the UC College of Medicine, published each Monday by the Academic Health Center Public Relations and Communications Office.

Send Us Your News
If you would like to submit news and information, or if you have any comments about the publication, please e-mail The deadline for submission is the Thursday before the published date.

  < prev issue | back to top | next issue >