Current Issue | Archives | Send Us Your News | Join Mailing List

Date: Monday, April 6, 2009

More Ways to Connect With Us

connect with us on Facebook  connect with us on Twitter  connect with us on YouTube  subscribe to our rss feed

Interdisciplinary Research Ethics Grants Announced

The Center for Clinical and Translational Science and Training (CCTST) has awarded two teams with one-year, $10,000 grants through its interdisciplinary clinical/translational research ethics grant program. Erin Haynes, DrPH, of environmental health, will lead a study with co-investigator Lisa Meloncon, PhD, of the McMicken College of Arts and Sciences, on the perceptions of Appalachian Americans toward genetic research. Their ultimate goal is to develop culturally appropriate research study recruitment materials and consent documents. Jason McMullan, MD, emergency medicine, will direct a study of the impact of personal experience of traumatic brain injury on the acceptance of research conducted with exception from informed consent. Co-investigators are emergency medicine colleagues Opeolu Adeoye, MD, and Christopher Lindsell, PhD, and Mary Brydon-Miller, PhD, of the College of Education, Criminal Justice and Human Services. Additional requests for applications will be issued in the future. For more information, visit


Filak Wins Courage to Lead Award

Andy FilakAndrew Filak, MD, senior associate dean for academic affairs, has received the 2009 Parker J. Palmer Courage to Lead Awardfrom the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME). Filak received the $1,000 award during the 2009 ACGME Annual Educational Conference, which took place March 5–8 in Grapevine, Texas. The annual award is given to ACGME-accredited residency program leaders who work to create an optimum learning environment for residents; encourage the ethical, professional and personal development of residents; and ensure safe and appropriate patient care. The ACGME is a private, nonprofit organization that accredits approximately 8,400 residency programs in 126 specialties and subspecialties that educate 107,000 residents. Its mission is to improve the quality of health care in the United States by assessing and advancing the quality of resident physicians’ education.


Osher Wins Innovator Award

Robert Osher, MD, professor of ophthalmology and medical director emeritus of the Cincinnati Eye Institute, has received the Charles D. Kelman Innovator’s Award from the American Society of Cataract and Refractive Surgery (ASCRS). The award is the highest honor given by the ASCR, the largest, independent, nonprofit organization that disseminates information about ophthalmic surgery to other doctors. Osher, one of only two Americans to ever receive this honor, has achieved worldwide recognition as a leader in cataract surgery. He has designed many of the contemporary intraocular lenses and instruments used in cataract surgery, in addition to developing new techniques in this subspecialty.


Medical Student Earns Research Fellowship Grant

Francis Huttinger, a first-year medical student, has been awarded a $2,500 Medical Student Summer Research Fellowship by the American Association of Neurological Surgeons. The grants, provided through the Neurosurgery Research and Education Foundation, were awarded to 15 medical students from the United States and Canada. The fellowship will enable Huttinger to spend the summer conducting research with Kenneth Strauss, PhD, research associate professor of neurosurgery and director of the Mayfield Neurotrauma Research Lab. Huttinger’s research will explore whether the delivery of small interfering RNA, via liposomes, limits gene expression of COX2 following traumatic brain injury (TBI) in an animal model. Evidence strongly suggests that the over-expression of COX2 following TBI adversely affects functional recovery.


Cancer Distinguished Scientist Seminar Series—April 9
Feng Qian, PhD, of Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, will discuss “The Role of Polycystin-1 Processing in Polycystic Kidney Disease” at 11 a.m. Thursday, April 9, in Rieveschl Auditorium. The talk is part of the Cincinnati Cancer Consortium Distinguished Scientist Seminar Series. All are welcome to attend. For more information, contact Peggy Bareswilt at or (513) 558-1284.

Imaging Research Talk—April 16
The Center for Imaging Research will present a talk by Diana Lindquist, PhD, titled “Effects of Antipsychotics on MRS Measures of Metabolite Levels in Normal Rat Brain,” from noon to 1 p.m. Thursday, April 16, in Medical Sciences Building Room 2351. Lindquist is a research assistant professor at UC and works in the Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center Department of Radiology’s Imaging Research Center. A light lunch will be served. For more information, contact Mary Stewart at or (513) 558-6225.

Dean’s List is a publication of the UC College of Medicine, published each Monday by the Academic Health Center Public Relations and Communications Office.

Send Us Your News
If you would like to submit news and information, or if you have any comments about the publication, please e-mail The deadline for submission is the Thursday before the published date

  < prev issue | back to top | next issue >