Current Issue | Archives | Send Us Your News | Join Mailing List

Date: Tuesday, May 26, 2009

More Ways to Connect With Us

connect with us on Facebook  connect with us on Twitter  connect with us on YouTube  subscribe to our rss feed

UC Aerosol Experts Receive Awards

Environmental health researchers have been chosen to receive two honors from the American Industrial Hygiene Association (AIHA). Sergey Grinshpun, PhD, and his team (Robert Eninger, PhD, Takeshi Honda, PhD, Tiina Reponen, PhD, and Roy McKay, PhD) will receive the John M. White Award for their respiratory protection study and the Davis L. Swift Memorial Award for an “outstanding contribution to aerosol and industrial hygiene research.” The study results were published last year by the Journal of Occupational and Environmental Hygiene in a manuscript titled: “What Does Respirator Certification Tell Us About Filtration of Ultrafine Particles?” The research offered a new look at the evaluation and certification of respiratory protection devices, which Grinshpun says is crucial to determining whether a specific respirator is adequate to protect an individual against infectious agents and other harmful aerosol particles. Grinshpun will accept the two awards at the June AIHA annual meeting in Toronto.


Cardiovascular Center of Excellence Pilot Grants

The Cardiovascular Center of Excellence is accepting applications for two pilot grants: development funds for program project grant (PPG), center and training and funds to generate preliminary data and/or equipment purchase in support of grants that will be submitted for national funding within the next 12 months. The primary criterion for awarding these one-year grants is that they have a high probability of fostering research that will lead to new or continued funding from external sources. Investigators applying for a PPG, center and training grant should submit a seven-page proposal that includes specific aims (one page), individual projects and their specific aims (two pages), critical rationale/supporting data addressing Cardiovascular Center relevance (one page), research plan and outline and critical data needed for submission of the PPG (two pages), budget (not to exceed $50,000) and justification (one page). In addition, all proposals should include National Institute of Health biosketches for each investigator (three pages each). To apply for the data and equipment purchase award, investigators should submit a five-page proposal that includes aims and rationale, background, preliminary data, research plan (including a section on how funding will benefit the investigator), budget and justification. Send all applications by Saturday, June 20, to Litsa Kranias, PhD, and Neal Weintraub, MD.


Ware Wins 2009 Clinical Scientist Award in Translational Research

Stephanie Ware, MD, PhD, assistant professor of pediatrics, has been named one of four recipients of the 2009 Clinical Scientist Awards in Translational Research by the Burroughs Wellcome Fund (BWF). Ware will use the funding to continue her research of “uncovering novel genetic causes and risks in congenital heart disease patients.”The awards, which provide $150,000 per year over five years ($750,000), are intended to support established, independent physician-scientists who are dedicated to translational research—the two-way transfer between laboratory research and patient treatment. Researchers must also be committed to mentoring physician-scientist trainees. Since the award's inception in 1997, BWF has made a total of 97 awards, an investment of nearly $73 million in the careers of translational researchers. For more information, visit


Boissy Receives American Skin Association Achievement Award

Raymond Boissy, PhD, professor of dermatology and cell biology, has received a 2009 Achievement Award from the American Skin Association (ASA) for his work studying vitiligo and pigment cell biology.Boissy was recognized for his contributions to the scientific understanding of the skin disorder, which causes white patches on the skin due to pigment loss. He is currently studying the etiology and cell biology of the disease. Boissy received an award plaque at the Society for Investigative Dermatology meeting this month in Montreal. The achievement award is one of a series of ASA awards recognizing outstanding work that brings significant improvement in the treatment available to people suffering from specific skin disorders. Boissy, who also serves as the director of basic science research at the College of Medicine, has published over 100 scientific papers and 30 review articles and book chapters and has helped edit a book titled “The Pigmentary System: Physiology and Pathophysiology.” He is the past secretary/treasurer of the PanAmerican Society for Pigment Cell Research and is currently the chair of the National Vitiligo Foundation.


Cancer Cell Biology Professor to Chair NIDDK Study Section

Nira Ben-Jonathan, MD, professor of cancer and cell biology, has been asked to chair the Diabetes, Endocrinology and Metabolic Disease Study Section by the National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Disease (NIDDK). The committee is composed of 24 scientists from universities across the United States. Ben-Jonathan’s research interests include obesity, breast cancer and endocrine disruptors. She previously served as chair of several National Institutes of Health study sections, including endocrinology, program projects and special emphasis study sections.


Cancer and Cell Biology Seminar Series
Curtis Harris, MD, of the Laboratory of Human Carcinogenesis at the National Cancer Institute, will discuss “Inflammation and Cancer: Interweaving microRNA, Inflammatory Cytokin and p53 Pathways” at noon Thursday, May 28, in Rieveschl Auditorium. The talk is part of the Cancer and Cell Biology Seminar Series. For more information, contact Peggy Bareswilt at (513) 558-1284 or

Football 101 Clinic to Benefit UC Cancer Program
The fourth annual Women's Football 101 clinic to benefit the UC Barrett Cancer Institute at University Hospital will take place Thursday, June 11, from 5:30-10 p.m. All event proceeds will benefit cancer clinical, educational and research programs affiliated with UC. The event gives women the opportunity to meet UC head football coach Brian Kelly and receive one-on-one football instruction on the field and in the classroom. Participants also will have the opportunity to tour Nippert Stadium and win prizes. Registration is $50 in advance or $60 the day of the event and includes a happy hour and hors d'oeuvres. To register, visit or call (800) 270-8232. For more information, call (513) 556-5986.

Dean’s List is a publication of the UC College of Medicine, published each Monday by the Academic Health Center Public Relations and Communications Office.

Send Us Your News
If you would like to submit news and information, or if you have any comments about the publication, please e-mail The deadline for submission is the Thursday before the published date.

  < prev issue | back to top | next issue >