Current Issue | Archives | Send Us Your News | Join Mailing List

Date: Monday, June 1, 2009

More Ways to Connect With Us

connect with us on Facebook  connect with us on Twitter  connect with us on YouTube  subscribe to our rss feed


Family Medicine Faculty Up for Educator of Year Honors
Barbara Tobias, MD, and Gregg Warshaw, MD, both of family medicine, are among the six nominees for the 2009 Ohio Association of Family Physicians (OAFP) Family Medicine Educator of the Year award. OAFP annually presents this award to a family medicine educator who meets and exceeds the criteria of being a capable teacher of family medicine, successful administrator/practitioner, productive researcher/scholar and inspiring leader. Candidates must also have 10 years of post-residency (or equivalent) experience, be actively caring for patients and be a member of OAFP. Warshaw is the Betty Semmons Professor of Geriatric Medicine and director of UC’s geriatric fellowship program. Tobias is director of predoctoral education in family medicine and an associate professor of clinical family medicine. The 2009 Family Physician of the Year award winner will be recognized during OAFP’s annual awards luncheon to be held Saturday, Aug. 8, in Columbus. The Ohio Academy of Family Physicians is a statewide, professional association with more than 4,400 members, including practicing physicians, family medicine residents and medical students. For more information, visit

Fellow Wins Best Presentation Award
Jason McMullan, MD, a fellow in the emergency medicine department, won the Best Fellow Presentation Award at the Society for Academic Emergency Medicine’s national meeting held May 14–17 in New Orleans. His presentation was titled “Midazolam Versus Diazepam for the Treatment of Status Epilepticus: A Meta-Analysis.” More than 2,166 people attended this year’s meeting, which featured a record-setting 683 research abstracts and 33 didactic sessions. For more information, visit

Surgery Staff Win Honors
Charles Doarn, deputy director of the Advanced Center for Telemedicine and Surgical Innovation and executive director or UC’s Center for Surgical Innovation, has been named a fellow of the Aerospace Medical Association. In addition, Doarn and Timothy Broderick, MD, associate professor of surgery, were named honorary NASA Flight Surgeons by the Society of NASA Flight Surgeons for their work in contributing toward human space flight. NASA flight surgeons are aerospace medicine experts who provide medical care to the astronauts. For more information, contact Doarn at


Weech Lecture June 2
Paul Farmer, MD, PhD, the subject of the book “Mountains Beyond Mountains: The Quest of Dr. Paul Farmer, A Man Who Would Cure the World,” will deliver the 2009 A. Ashley Weech Lecture at 8 a.m. Tuesday, June 2, in Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center’s Sabin Auditorium. Farmer will discuss "Global Health Equity: Community-Based Care, Human Resources for Health and Implementation Challenges." Weech (1895–1977), was the third B.K. Rachford Professor of Pediatrics, chief of staff at Cincinnati Children’s, medical director of the pediatric contagious disease department and director of the Children’s Hospital Research Foundation from 1942–63. For more information, contact Ryan Buchholz at

Cancer and Cell Biology Seminar Series June 4
Ajay Chawla, assistant professor of medicine at Stanford University School of Medicine, will present “PPARS and Macrophage Activation in Health and Disease” at noon Thursday, June 4, in Rieveschl Auditorium. The talk is part of the Cancer and Cell Biology Seminar Series. For more information, contact Peggy Bareswilt at (513) 558-1284 or

CCTST Grand Rounds Series Kicks Off June 12
The Center for Clinical and Translational Science and Training (CCTST) will host its first grand rounds series with two presenters from Vanderbilt University on Friday, June 12. Paul Harris, PhD, research associate professor of biomedical informatics, will discuss “Vanderbilt University’s StarBRITE Researcher Portal” from 11 a.m. to noon. Harris is the primary developer of both StarBRITE (Biomedical Research Integration, Translation and Education) and the Web-based REDCap (Research Electronic Data Capture) database application for research studies. StarBRITE has been utilized by over 4,500 members of the Vanderbilt University and Meharry Medical Center research community, while REDCap is in development or active use for more than 530 studies across a consortium of 51 active institutional partners, including UC and Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center. Frank Harrell Jr., PhD, professor and chair of biostatistics, will discuss “Information Allergy” from 1 to 2 p.m. Information allergy is defined as refusing to obtain key information needed to make a sound decision or ignoring important available information. Examples will be presented, concluding with an examination of how information–phobic cardiac arrhythmia research contributed to the deaths of thousands of patients. Both talks will take place in Medical Sciences Building Room 5051. CCTST grand rounds are free and open to the public. For more information, visit

Ride Cincinnati June 14
Cyclists of all ages and skill levels are invited to pedal across Greater Cincinnati for breast cancer awareness at the third annual 2009 Ride Cincinnati. The family-friendly biking event takes place Sunday, June 14, at Yeatman’s Cove/Sawyer Point. Event organizers plan to donate all proceeds from the event to the UC Barrett Cancer Institute at University Hospital to support local breast cancer clinical, translational and basic research programs. Ride Cincinnati cyclists and families can choose to ride distances ranging from 8.2 to 62.8 miles. Before June 5, registration for adults is $30 and includes a T-shirt and goodie backpack. Child registration is $15 and includes a T-shirt, bike accessory, finisher medal and goodie backpack. Registration is $40 for adults and $20 for children after June 5. For more information, visit

Dean’s List is a publication of the UC College of Medicine, published each Monday by the Academic Health Center Public Relations and Communications Office.

Send Us Your News
If you would like to submit news and information, or if you have any comments about the publication, please e-mail The deadline for submission is the Thursday before the published date.

  < prev issue | back to top | next issue >