Current Issue | Archives | Send Us Your News | Join Mailing List

Date: Monday, December 21, 2009

More Ways to Connect With Us

connect with us on Facebook  connect with us on Twitter  connect with us on YouTube  subscribe to our rss feed

DelBello Elected to ACNP Member Status
Melissa DelBello, MD, of the psychiatry department, has been elected to member status in the American College of Neuropsychopharmacology (ACNP), effective January 2010. Founded in 1961, ACNP is a nonprofit, professional society dedicated to advancing the scientific understanding of and the dissemination of knowledge about neuropsychiatric disorders in order to advance their prevention and treatment. For more information, visit


Eckman to Monitor, Present at Conference
Mark Eckman, MD, professor and chief of general medicine, along with colleagues from Harvard University and the University of Texas Health Science Center, will moderate and present at the International Stroke Conference, hosted by the American Heart Association and the American Stroke Association, Feb. 24-26 in San Antonio. The symposium, titled “The Tipping Point: New Approaches to the Decision to Anticoagulate,” will address how changes in the epidemiology of stroke among patients with atrial fibrillation have affected the balance of risk and benefit of anticoagulant use.


Susman Co-Chairs Mental Health Steering Committee
Jeffrey Susman, MD, chair of family and community medicine, is co-chair of the National Quality Forum Mental Health Steering Committee, which is developing a framework of outcome measures for quality mental health care in the United States. The committee is also responsible for proposing these measures nationally as a yardstick for reviewing the quality of mental health care nationally. For more information, visit







  < prev issue | back to top | next issue >