findings home/archives       contact us       other AHC publications   

May 2010 Issue

Jean Anthony
RSS feed

May News Extras

Published May 2010

Hoxworth Blood Center Needs Blood Donations

Hoxworth Blood Center continues to request blood and platelet donations as supplies deplete.

The center has recently reported critically low levels of O blood supplies.

"Hoxworth is faced with a critically low inventory of type O blood which is the result of heavy hospital usage,” says Alecia Lipton, Hoxworth spokesperson.

"We need donors in the Tristate to step forward to meet the demand locally.

"We are asking eligible type O donors to make a donation at their earliest convenience in order to support patients at the 32-area hospitals we serve.”

Hoxworth operates eight neighborhood donor centers in Anderson, Blue Ash, the UC Academic Health Center, Downtown, Ft. Mitchell, Mason, Tri-County and Western Hills. In times of shortages, walk-ins are always welcome.

Donors can call (513) 451-0910 or (800) 830-1091 to schedule an appointment at a neighborhood donor center.

Appointments can also be scheduled online at

UC Obesity Researcher to Receive Top Field Awards

Matthias Tschöp, MD, professor in the endocrinology, diabetes and metabolism division, will receive the André Mayer Award from the Inter-national Association for the Study of Obesity at the 2010 International Congress on Obesity meeting July 11-15 in Stockholm.

The award is given every four years to one scientist worldwide for "outstanding research in the field of obesity.”

In addition, Tschöp has been selected by the National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases (NIDDK) of the National Institutes of Health to receive the NIDDK 60th Anniversary Early Career Investigator/ Scholar Award for 2010.

Twelve scientists whose work exemplifies excellence in medical research funded or supported by the NIDDK were selected for this honor and Tschöp was selected as the recipient for the field of obesity research.

Tschöp leads a laboratory at UC’s Metabolic Diseases Institute and investigates novel pathways participating in cross-talk between the central nervous system and peripheral organs in the control of nutrient metabolism.

Honors Day Winners Announced, Event May 23

David Fischer, MD, chief of general surgery, has been selected for the fourth consecutive time to receive the Golden Apple teaching award during the College of Medicine’s Honors Day Program to be held at 1 p.m. Sunday, May 23, at Music Hall.

LeAnn Coberly, MD, internal medicine, and Thomas deHoop, MD, obstetrics and gynecology, will be awarded Silver Apples.

In addition, Michael Donaworth and Jonathan Hassel will both be presented with the 2010 alumni awards.

This year’s class speaker and university commencement representative is Jared Bentley.

All winners were selected by the fourth-year class. For more information, contact IvaDean Lair at or (513) 558-5577.

College of Pharmacy Hooding Ceremony June 4

The James L. Winkle College of Pharmacy will hold its 2010 hooding and recognition ceremony at 7:30 p.m. Friday, June 4, at the Aronoff Center for the Arts.

Eighty-seven full-time and six non-traditional PharmD students are on track to graduate next month. In addition, eight graduate students are working towards master’s degrees—seven in drug development and one in distance learning cosmetic sciences.

Two doctoral students are also expected to receive their degrees in June.

Reunion Weekend Date Set for Health Colleges

The four health colleges—allied health sciences, medicine, nursing and pharmacy—will welcome alumni back to campus during the 2010 Reunion Weekend, slated for May 14-15.

Each college will hold its own activities and events.

For more information, visit each colleges’ respective website:
 Allied Health Sciences:

Nursing Professor Wins Health Champion Award

Jean Anthony, PhD, assistant professor in the College of Nursing, has received the 2010 Health Champion Award from the Center for Closing the Health Gap in Greater Cincinnati.

The annual award honors medical and health professionals for their dedication and commitment to serving the underserved members of the Cincinnati community.

Anthony has a special interest in the self-advocacy of health care decision-making among elderly African-Americans, recognizing and managing depression, and the role of black clergy in the counseling of congregants with mental health problems.

Read more about Anthony at

Faculty/Staff Campaign Kicks Off This Month

The UC faculty/staff fundraising campaign begins this month and runs through June 30, although all gifts made since July 1, 2009, count toward the campaign goal.

Like years past, the campaign—part of the university’s $1 billion "Proudly Cincinnati” capital campaign—places more emphasis on participation rather than a specific dollar amount. No amount is too big or small to donate.

To donate online, go to proudly, send a check, payable to the UC Foundation, to mail location 0064 or call (513) 556-6781 for a pledge card or to make a credit card gift.

11th Annual PRaISE Event

The College of Allied Health Sciences 2010 PRaISE (Presenta-tions of Research and Innovative/ Scholarly Endeavors) Conference will be held from 9 a.m. to 2:30 p.m. Friday, May 21, in both French East Building and UC Health University Hospital.

PRaISE is an undergraduate and graduate student research symposium which celebrates student accomplishments in research and recognizes their faculty advisors.

The event will feature an address by UC President Gregory Williams, PhD, followed by oral and poster presentations, an alumni awards ceremony and a luncheon.

For more information, visit

Humanism in Medicine Awards Presented

Two UC Health University Hospital associates received this year’s Humanism in Medicine Awards, which honor non-physician staff members who exemplify humanism in their daily work.

Clarissa Blackmon, housekeeper in the neurology unit, and Theresa Lester, health unit coordinator in the emergency department, will both receive a certificate and $100 from grant monies from the Arnold P. Gold Foundation, which sponsors the awards program.

 back to list | back to top