findings home/archives       contact us       other AHC publications   

March 2011 Issue

RSS feed

College of Pharmacy Faculty Receive Top Honors

By Angela Koenig
Published March 2011

CINCINNATI—Faculty members at University of Cincinnati (UC) James L. Winkle College of Pharmacy are receiving top honors for their leadership in pharmacy education.

Michael Doherty, PharmD, an assistant professor of clinical pharmacy practice and director of the experiential learning program, is the recipient of the 2011 American Pharmacists Association Academy of Student Pharmacists (APhA-ASP) Outstanding Chapter Advisor Award. Doherty was selected in recognition of his work with and growth of UC’s APhA-ASP chapter, including increased membership, new programming and nationally recognized patient care projects.

Doherty has served as the chapter advisor since 2000. Under his leadership, the chapter was recognized with several awards including Most-Improved Chapter and Innovative Programming. Following his guidance, several students have received APhA-ASP awards as well, including Student Leadership and Foundation Awards.

The APhA’s awards program is pharmacy’s most comprehensive recognition program. Doherty will be officially recognized at the annual meeting in Seattle March 25-28, 2011.

Additionally, UC’s William Howard Taft Medal for Notable Achievement—the highest of six 2011 Top Alumni honors—will be presented to professor emeritus J. Richard Wuest, PharmD (’58, ’68, ’71), on Thursday, June 6, at the Kingsgate Marriott Conference Center. The award symbolizes lifelong excellence in a chosen field.

A Cincinnati native, Wuest became a leader in pharmacy education and practice far beyond the UC community, extending his reach to the Ohio Board of Pharmacy and numerous professional organizations throughout the country. In addition to enabling pharmacists to become multidisciplinary health care resources, Wuest was a leader in developing warning labels for prescription bottle alerts and reminders.

"Dick has dedicated his life to the education of pharmacists and the development of the practice of pharmacy,” Dean Daniel Acosta said in his nomination. "His awards and recognitions are too numerous to list. Suffice it to say that he is an unselfish and caring individual who has helped many people establish successful careers in pharmacy.”

 back to list | back to top