findings home/archives       contact us       other AHC publications   

April 2011 Issue

Bikers of all skill levels participated in the 2009 Ride Cincinnati event.
RSS feed

News Extras

Published April 2011

Chick-fil-A Leadercast Event May 6

The UC College of Nursing and Sagestone Partners are co-hosting the second annual Chick-fil-A Leadercast event from 7:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Friday, May 6, at Fifth Third Arena.

The live broadcast features 11 speakers, including Muhtar Kent, chairman of the board and chief executive officer of the Coca-Cola Co., and University of Texas head football coach Mack Brown. The event is open and applicable to all professionals, and 5.5 continuing education contact hours for nurses are approved by the Ohio Board of Nursing. Register at

UC Wellness Events in April

Stephanie Lockhart, director of audiology in the department of otolaryngology, Kellie Flood-Shaffer, MD, associate professor of obstetrics and gynecology, and Greg Kennebeck, MD, UC Health primary care, will be giving wellness talks during the month of April from noon to 1 p.m. at 454 University Hall.

This is a brown bag lunch. Lockhart will discuss hearing health on Tuesday, April 5, Flood-Shaffer will be talking about women’s health on Wednesday, April 20, and Kennebeck will be discussing men’s health on Wednesday, April 27.

Registration is required at

Ride Cincinnati Pilot Grant Program Seeking Proposals

The Marlene Harris Ride Cincinnati Breast Cancer Pilot Grant Program is soliciting proposals for cancer-related research pilot projects.

In 2011, the grant program will offer approximately four grants of $40,000.

Grants will be awarded for a period of one year and researchers will have the opportunity to renew their grant the following year. All grants should have a strong scientific basis for development into national funded programs following the end of the funding period.

Deadline for proposals is 5 p.m. Friday, April 15.
For details on completion and submission of proposals, contact Brigid Higgins at

New External Faculty Awards Website

A long-term goal of the UC2019 strategic plan is to increase the number of national/international awards to UC faculty.

A new website has been developed to facilitate applying for or nominating faculty for awards. Login is required using your central login and password, and awards are listed by name, deadline and college. 

Web links with additional information about each award and the application process is provided.

If you have questions or recommendations for additions to the awards list, email Dawn O’Neill at

Keshavan to Speak at Nasrallah Series

Matcheri Keshavan, MD, Stanley R. Cobb Professor of Psychiatry at Harvard Medical School, will be the featured speaker for the Nasrallah Schizophrenia Lecture Series from 11:30 a.m. to 1 p.m. Wednesday, April 20, in Suite 2108 of the Stetson Building.

His topic will be, "Advances in Deciphering Schizophrenia: From Scattered Findings to Coherent Models.”

Keshavan’s areas of research include the neurodevelopmental basis of schizophrenia, neuroimaging and early intervention.

The event is a continuing medical education activity, made possible by the Henry A. Nasrallah, MD, Endowed Lectureship Fund.

Pre-registration is not required, and there is no fee to attend.

For more information, contact Angela Olive at (513) 558-5326 or

Vasospasm Conference Scheduled for July

The UC Department of Neurosurgery, UC Neuroscience Institute and Mayfield Clinic will host Vasospasm 2011: The 11th Inter-national Conference on Neurovascular Events after Subarachnoid Hemorrhage, July 21-23, at the Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza.

Vasospasm, a sudden spasm of a blood vessel, occurs frequently after a ruptured aneurysm and can lead to permanent brain damage or death.

It remains mysterious and frustrating to doctors, who as yet have no optimal clinical management strategy.

The conference will address clinical management strategies and basic science studies, and include full sessions, workshops and platform and poster presentations based on abstract submissions.

Mario Zuccarello, MD, chairman and Frank H. Mayfield Professor of the neurosurgery department, and Joe Clark, PhD, a professor in the neurology department, are event co-chairs.

For program information, visit

 back to list | back to top