findings home/archives       contact us       other AHC publications   

May 2011 Issue

The 2011 Nightingale Award recipients (left to right): Sara Krzywkowski-Mohn, Mary Burch, Cathy Frank, Amy Kimble, Treaundra Pope, Taylor Grooms
RSS feed

$100,000 Endowment Pledged to Support Nightingale Awards

By Angela Koenig
Published May 2011

For nearly two decades, the UC College of Nursing has honored area nurses by recognizing their outstanding service at an annual dinner/awards ceremony: The Nightingale Awards.

It’s an event that started out with about 250 attendees in 1993 and spilled to almost 1,000 attendees in 2011. It’s also a tradition that benefactors Dennis and Lois Doyle want to see continued well into the future.

On April 28, at the 2011 ceremony, it was announced that the Doyles had pledged $100,000—in $25,000 increments—to help sustain the Nightingale Awards and honor former dean Andrea Lindell, PhD, who founded the event shortly after taking the dean’s post in 1990. Lindell retired in 2010.

"No matter where she goes, no matter what she does, this will always be in her honor, and we just want to make sure that it continues,” says Lois Doyle, a College of Nursing Board of Advisors member for 19 years.

Doyle has served as chairperson of the Awards Selection Committee for the last 15 years. While obviously very supportive of the college, Doyle credits her husband for coming up with the idea for an endowment.

"He’s sat next to me at these dinners for 19 years, and we have enjoyed listening to the winners speak,” she says.

"It’s inspiring and just such a wonderful event.”

This year, the UC College of Nursing’s Board of Advisors deliberated over 260 nominations. Lindell says she initiated the awards "in recognition of the leadership, skill and compassion that nurses bring to the health care profession.”

"It is extremely gratifying to know that these awards will now be a legacy in Cincinnati,” she says.

"I want to thank the Doyles for their generous contribution to both the UC College of Nursing and the nursing profession.”

That gratitude is also expressed by the interim dean, Cheryl Hoying, PhD: "We all like to be recognized when we go above and beyond in caring for patients. The Nightingale Awards give us the opportunity to celebrate outstanding nurses in our community and are grateful that the gift will allow the College of Nursing to continue that commitment in Dr. Lindell’s honor."

Nightingale Award recipients receive $1,000 and a commemorative Nightingale award in recognition for their contributions to direct patient care.

2011 Nightingale Award Winners:

Mary Burch, Erlanger Elsmere School District

Taylor Grooms, Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center

Amy Kimble, Bethesda North Hospital

Sara Krzywkowski-Mohn, Cincinnati Department of Veterans Affairs Medical Center

Cathy Frank, Cincinnati Health Department

Treaundra Pope, Good Samaritan Hospital

Dean's Award Recipients (Receiving $400):

Jeanne Brown
, Cincinnati Department of Veterans Affairs Medical Center

Julie Crossen, St. Elizabeth Healthcare

Sharon Docterman, Hyde Park Health Center

Robert Hitzler, UC Health University Hospital

Connie Lanter, Saint James School

Sherri Lee, St. Elizabeth Healthcare

Rebecca Lewis, Christ Hospital

Carol Parker, Cincinnati Health Department

Lisa Sierra, Good Samaritan Hospital

Amy Stahley, Mercy Hospital Anderson

Stacey Wills, Cincinnati Health Department

 back to list | back to top