findings home/archives       contact us       other AHC publications   

May 2011 Issue

Interim Dean Andrew Filak, MD, presents Laura Wexler, MD, the faculty award for Exemplary Service and Commitment to Medical Student Education
RSS feed

Medical Educators Recognized

By Angela Koenig
Published May 2011

Every two years, educators and supporters of medical education at the University of Cincinnati (UC) College of Medicine are recognized for their outstanding contributions to medical education.

This year’s Medical Education Recognition Dinner applauded the following:

2011 Dean’s Award for Teaching Excellence

·         Zélia Corręa, MD, PhD, assistant professor of clinical ophthalmology

·         Estrelita Dixon, MD, assistant professor of internal medicine

·         Eric Gruenstein, PhD, professor of molecular genetics, biochemistry and microbiology

·         Keith Kenter, MD, assistant professor of orthopedic surgery

·         Anil Menon, PhD, professor of molecular genetics, biochemistry and microbiology

·         Robert Neel, MD, assistant professor of clinical neurology

·         Gregg Warshaw, MD, professor of family and community medicine


Community Preceptor Awards

·         Phillip Carr, MD

·         Erik Powell, MD


Outstanding Contributions and Support to Medical Education

·         Julie Lefebvre, program manager, internal medicine

·         Thomas deHoop, MD, clerkship director, obstetrics & gynecology

·         Arthur Ollendorff, MD, volunteer associate professor


University Libraries, Health Sciences Library/UC Information Technology

·         Matt Conley

·         Gregory Fish

·         James Glenn

·         Birsen Kaya

·         Peter Poulos, PhD

·         Leslie Schick,

·         Dennis Tunningley

·         Richard Vogelsang Jr.


Graduate Medical Education Program Directors Award

·         Mitchell Rashkin, MD, Department of Internal Medicine, Pulmonary/Critical Care Fellowship Training Program


Medical Student Teaching Award

·         Andrew Browne, UC IV/PSTP Program


Exemplary Service and Commitment to Medical Student Education

·         Laura Wexler, MD, senior associate dean for student affairs and admissions



Also recognized at the dinner were the members of the Curriculum Analysis and Revision Task Force. They include:


·         M. Stephen Baxter, MD

·         Aurora Bennett, MD

·         Jesse Capone, UC IV

·         Edmund Choi, PhD

·         LeAnn Coberly, MD

·         Jannette Collins, MD

·         Jerry Friemoth, MD

·         Denise Gibson, PhD

·         Bruce Giffin, PhD

·         Anne Gunderson, EdD,

·         Michael Lieberman, PhD

·         Andrew Look, UC I

·         D.J. Lowrie, PhD

·         Marshall Montrose, PhD

·         Arthur Ollendorff, MD

·         David Pettigrew, PhD

·         Catharine Saelinger, PhD

·         Michael Sostok, MD

·       Peter Toth, student

·       Inuk Zandvakili, student

 back to list | back to top