findings home/archives       contact us       other AHC publications   

July 2004 Issue

RSS feed

Nursing News

Published July 2004

Evelyn Fitzwater, DSN, RN, associate professor of nursing, has received the Department of the Army Commendation Medal for meritorious service as the commander of the 369th Minimal Care Detachment.

Tina Weitkamp, MSN, RNC, associate professor of clinical nursing, and Candace Kugel, CRNP, CNM, MS, have won the $500 Outstanding Innovative Program Poster Award from the Association of Women's Health Obstetrical & Neonatal Nurses (AWHONN). The award for their poster, "Caring and Sharing: Promoting Women's and Infants' Health in Honduras," was presented June 30 at the AWHONN national conference.

Donna Shambley-Ebron, PhD, RN, assistant professor of nursing, has been awarded the Vickie and Clinton Lambert Nursing Scholarship Award, given to the PhD student who demonstrates excellence in scholarly written work. She has also been awarded a $3,000 grant from the University Research Council for her study, "My Sister, Myself: Culture and Health for Africana Girls."

Two faculty members have received $2,500 Rabinowitz Research Awards from the College of Nursing. Marcia Hern, EdD, RN, professor of nursing, received her award for her proposal, "Experiences of College Age Youth in a Family with a Genetic Condition," Jean Spann Anthony, PhD, RN, assistant professor of nursing, for "Perceptions of Health Status in an Urban Homeless Population."

 back to list | back to top