findings home/archives       contact us       other AHC publications   

February 2008 Issue

The College of Nursing honors Tristate nursing during its annual Florence Nightingale Awards for Nursing, named for the founder of modern nursing.
RSS feed

Nominations Being Sought for Nursing Awards

Published February 2008

The UC College of Nursing is  accepting nominations for its 16th annual Florence Nightingale Awards, named for the founder of modern nursing, which honor registered nurses for their commitment to excellent patient care.

“This event has grown from 250 people attending the first year to more than 900 last year,” says Elizabeth Karle, program manager for the College of Nursing.

“The awards are one way we can let our local nurses know how much we value the outstanding patient care they provide.”

Patients, family, friends of patients, colleagues, physicians and other health care workers are encouraged to nominate a nurse.

Selection criteria includes demonstrating excellence in direct patient care, living and being employed in the Greater Cincinnati area (Ohio, Kentucky and southern Indiana) and being a licensed registered nurse.

Award winners will be selected by members of the College of Nursing Board of Advisors.

Six nurses will receive $1,000 awards, to be presented Thursday, April 24, at the downtown Cincinnati Hyatt Regency. Ten additional nurses will receive the Dean’s Award and $400 each.

The Nightingale awards are made possible through event sponsorships. Sponsorship money exceeding the event’s cost will be donated to the College of Nursing student scholarship fund.

Nominations must be received by Friday, March 7. The forms are available at

 back to list | back to top